We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted: Motor Lodge - Not Flop House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yorktown Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Glen Allen, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanted: Motor Lodge - Not Flop House”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The pictures on their website were obviously staged and taken when everything was in order, fresh and new. I think we had the same room "Not acceptable!!" had. Someone needs to tell the owner that a TV channel changer won't work until you reprogram it after you add batteries (duh). I'll add to their review: the sink had no stopper, the towel racks were gone and we had only one hand towel, one cloth and two bath towels for 2 adults. As stated in another review, the room smelled musty/moldy, the blankets AND sheets had cig burns and one light cord had no plug; it didn't need one, though, because there was nowhere to plug it in. The light on the other side of the bed plugged in right on top of the box springs under the mattress -- potential fire hazard?? Well. Someone needs to tell the owners that a motor lodge is not a flop house.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LVW059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    6
    7
    27
See reviews for
20
15
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The staff was kind and friendly. My room was clean and I received very good service. The rates are very reasonable for the area the hotel is in. When I asked for something extra they went out of thier way to accomadate me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kan618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

If you value your health you would not want to stay here. No lights worked, no appliances worked. Mold spores were everywhere. Horrible staff. A real dump and trust me when i say this the owners are criminals. They called a cab for me and the entire trip i was being harrassed by the cab driver. i am still being called by him and i have been gone for a month. i woke up one morning and found the owners cab driver friend peeking into my car windows. i asked what he was doing and he said seeing what kind of music you guys listen to.............. Very Scary experience and overall glad to be home. This place ruined my vacation all i wanted to do was leave so we did.

Room Tip: dont pick this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honesttraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Thank god we only stayed two days! Room was in horrible condition. Light cords were frayed and even one of the wall lights plug was broken off making the light inoperable. Bathroom fixtures were broken or missing. Non smoking room??? The blankets had cigarette burns in them!!! TV was broke, and the continental breakfast was a joke!! I think I've said enough!!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rking82654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Looks nice from the outside but inside is different. Our carpet was damp in front of the bed. No one was ever at the front desk, took over 5 mins for the person to show up when we checked in. Room was clean but linens are badly needing replacing. Towels were so badly stained that we went and got our own towels at the store to use. They also smelled like coffee to me. Sheets need replacing as well as bed spread (had cigarette burns in it). Blanket should be thrown out. Breakfast was a joke. Glad I got some stuff at 7-11 for breakfast. My husband couldn't wait to check out this morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Very good value. Staff was very friendly and helpful! The room met my needs perfectly. Would stay there again.I am often traveling in the area and always stay there. Very close to colonial parkway and other tourist sites .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cragland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This motel is horrible. First, there was a Water Moccasin on the sidewalk in front of our door. The owner barely shrugged when we reported it. He must've been distracted by his children, who were swimming in the "pool" with no clothes on! Our key card never worked, and was never fixed. Worst of all, when we got home, we found we'd been double-charged. Six months later and they STILL refuse to refund the incorrect charge. This place borders on criminal, and we are turning the matter over to the authorities. Do yourself a favor: DO NOT stay at Yorktown Motor Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Yorktown
Red Roof Inn Yorktown
#6 of 8 in Yorktown
98 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport News/Williamsburg East
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorktown Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorktown Motor Lodge

Property: Yorktown Motor Lodge
Address: 8829 George Washington Mem Hwy, Yorktown, VA 23692-4057
Region: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yorktown Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorktown Motor Lodge offers guests extraordinary service, an array of amenities, and clean, newly remodeled rooms with four spacious room types. Each of our guest rooms feature cable television, refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, and free high-speed Internet. The Yorktown Motor Lodge serves a complimentary breakfast each morning at no additional charge and also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool. In addition, we are located right in the heart of the Virginia Historic Triangle offering guests convenient access to numerous dining and shopping options. While you are enjoying your stay at Yorktown Motor Lodge, you'll also want to explore many of the local attractions this area has to offer such as Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement and the Yorktown Battlefield. Many of our guests also enjoy visiting the Williamsburg Winery and Yorktown Beach! Our hotel will meet your travel needs with quality and value in many ways, whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. We pledge to provide you with premium accommodations and service that will make your stay here a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yorktown Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing