We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bubba is amazing”

The Watermen's Museum
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bubba is amazing”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We happened to be donig some beachwallking in front of The Waterman's Museum that's when we met "bubba". He was a great sharer of information about everything but we were able to get a one to one tour of the windmill. We actually turned the blades.

Bubba made the experience GREAT....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
No where, Midwest
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a stop Matey!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Mind you we went as they were battoning down the hatches as rough weather was approaching and it was October past tourist season. But it was a good little museum that talked about the history of being a Watermen. For the few dollars you spend to support the museum it was well worth the time. There were different boats outside to look at as well. Not a tourist trap but honest to goodness history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was sweltering the day we were in Yorktown and this was a great way for us to cool off after a sailing trip. The kids enjoyed the coloring sheets and the exhibit about the Civil War.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelS_01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Marian Bowditch”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

While staying at The Hornsby Inn, the museum was recommended and was one of the highlights of our visit. Watermen paid such a big role in the local history and economy that it was fascinating to hear it reviewed by local docent. A great deal of the credit for establishing the museum goes to Marian Hornsby Bowditch whose sons are now the hosts of the inn in her former home. Don't miss this museum.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RecipeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Appreciated Whitey giving us a tour and telling us alot about the history. Very friendly staff. Would recommend this stop to anyone that visits Yorktown

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank armydadof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermen's Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Watermen's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing