We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place - and great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
York River Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night in the Pochahantas room. A lot of effort has been made to make this place interesting with pictures etc relating to the theme of the room. The room itself was great, clean, comfortable and everything we needed. The common area has a terasse with view of the river. It was really nice sitting there. There can be some traffic noise from the bridge but nothing serious. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed it. Best asset of the place is almost Bill. A really nice host with an encyclopedic knowledge of the history, flora, geology etc of the area. Could have stayed longer hearing his stories! Very much appreciated meeting him and thank him for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for York River Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My fiance and I were married on May 17th, 2014, a Saturday. We had originally made reservations for 2 nights but stayed an additional 3rd night because of how much we enjoyed our accommodations and host Bill Cole. He made our stay so memorable. We had the President's Room with the balcony facing the York River. Bill had a wonderful, delicious, creative breakfast waiting for us every morning and would sit and visit with us. We loved that. He was so informative with the historical knowledge of Yorktown and we enjoyed him telling us about his gardens and referring us to the best local restaurants. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. We will be returning as often as possible. Thank you so much Bill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I love history, finely decorated rooms, and good food. We found all of this at York River. The innkeeper is a gentleman with a strong historical background. The conversation at breakfast was fascinating. The veiw from our second floor room of the river and the songbiirds was beautiful. And the bathrooms have Toto waslets!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondVaDymphna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I returned for our second visit in two and a half years and we had an excellent time. We stayed on the second floor in the Presidents Room. I liked it better than the room we stayed in the first time. It was easier for us to move around in and the balcony over looking the river was wonderful. Bill was great as usually and he always has great stories to tell. This is a gem of a place to stay if you like to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacritter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The best B&B I've every stayed in, and there have been many worldwide. I suggest the Presidents' Room because it has the best view and a little outdoor porch. The village (walk to) has nice shops and an espresso cafe. There's even a small public beach for the brave. You won't need a big restaurant after Bill's breakfast - at least not until way in the evening! And nothing will compare to his meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Bill's breakfasts were delicious! Ask for the cooked pineapple and the peach and mango dish. He does wonders with bagel thins. Conversation was great. Don't worry if you forget to pack something. Bill stocks the suites with almost everything you need.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending a family wedding in Williamsburg. We had the President's room overlooking the York River. The room was spacious and cosy, had a lovely view and sundeck. We got to see the bridge open twice which was pretty interesting. It is nice and quiet, great breakfast with local fare and recipes. Bill is a wealth of knowledge on the region and a great host. It is a quick walk down to the dock and historical town.
Thanks for a great stay

Julia and Steve, Reno

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaP983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
8.7 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
10.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
9.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
10.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 Ambler St, Yorktown, VA 23690-3702
Region: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range: £81 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York River Inn Bed & Breakfast is situated on a high bluff overlooking the York River in a colonial-style building. It is the only waterfront bed and breakfast in the Yorktown and Colonial Williamsburg area. The York River Inn Bed & Breakfast is the ideal location for a relaxing visit in historic Yorktown, Virginia. The York River Inn B & B is also a delightful place to enjoy the historic areas of Yorktown and Williamsburg. Gracious settings, generous amenities, and knowledgeable host create a memorable experience rather than just a night away from home. All three guestrooms are filled with standard amenities enhanced by many charming and useful additions--the innkeeper's extensive travel and hospitality career have contributed to his skill at providing the finest accommodations possible. The common area includes a sofa and comfortable chairs, where you can browse through piles of current magazines. The refrigerator is fully stocked for guests. The innkeeper has a vast selection of Virginia books, maps and extensive materials on travel from all over the US and the world. You are welcome to enjoy the shared deck with deck chairs, as well as the cookies and treats always set out on the dining room table. A gourmet breakfast served in the elegant antiques-filled dining area overlooking the river is a highlight of the experience provided at the York River Inn. The Inn is only a short distance from the colonial area and other attractions of Yorktown and is only 15 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg by the way of the scenic Colonial Parkway. The local area is filled with historic, cultural, and entertainment activities without the stress of a busy crowded town. In Yorktown itself are two major historical attractions celebrating the winning of American independence October 19,1781 when George Washington accepted the surrender of the British under Lord Cornwallis, an event commemorated by the 1881 victory monument just down river from the York River Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
York River Inn b&b
York River Hotel Yorktown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing