We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B, good location for birders”
Review of Casa de San Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de San Pedro
Ranked #1 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B, good location for birders”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a very well-managed and friendly B&B. The rooms are a good size, and the bathrooms are nicely decorated with colourful ceramics. Breakfast is an all-guests-sit-down-together affair at 8:00am; delicious fresh pies, along with tea and coffee are available throughout the day. A great feature is the large amount of public space - a large "living room" with fireplace, and other comfortable rooms and nooks and crannies with books and magazines. Lots of them look out over bird feeders placed around the building.

With no restaurant at the B&B, you have two dinner choices: go out to one of the nearest restaurants, about a 20-minute drive away; or buy takeout or groceries during the day and store them in the guest fridge and heat things up for dinner. There's a comfortable table and chairs in the room, if you choose this option.

The thing we appreciated most about this B&B and its hosts was their helpfulness and flexibility: 8:00am is way too late for birders to eat breakfast, but Patrick and Karl will arrange to cook a takeaway breakfast for you if you are a crack-of-dawn birder. Also, we arrived late in the afternoon on Valentine's day, hungry. It was impossible to get a restaurant reservation, and Patrick and Karl invited us to a pot luck at the B&B. We had delicious meal, and a great evening.

For birders, this B&B is close to the canyons, and is on the road east towards Bisbee and the cranes at Whitewater Draw. It's farther from the more northerly birding spots like Patagonia State Park. A good base. An easy drive to the feeders at Ash Canyon B&B.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a bit close to the guest kitchen and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
103
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I can't think of one negative thing to say about our four night stay at this delightful Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and homey. The breakfasts are excellent, and the homemade pies in the afternoon are even better. The property is located along a small river with lots of birding opportunities. There are birding field guides and binoculars available to borrow. A gift shop offers field guides, tee-shirts, hats, etc. If you are visiting southeastern Arizona, this is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This appears at first glance to be a modest B&B but in fact it was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. More importantly, the two guys who run it, Patrick and Karl, were extremely helpful and hospitable. Because of its location next to the San Pedro River, it is a natural destinatiion for bird lovers. We saw kingfishers, vermilion flycatchers, Gila woodpeckers, Gambel's quail, Pyrrhuyloxia, and other beautiful birds there. It is a short trip to other worthwhile sites such as Bisbee, Tombstone, and the mountain valleys on the west side of Sierra Vista. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent two nights and we wish we had spent the week. What a lovely spot and Karl and Patrick spoil their guest. Fresh baked pies each day, homemade cookies and a really special breakfast, beyond anything I've ever had in an inn. No Costco muffins here, all homemade and they take care of any dietary needs you have. It's a beautiful part of Arizona with too many things to see in a short drive in all directions. Bird watching is their specialty, and our host provide lots of books and insite. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mszozobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartwright, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here with a group. The weather was pretty chilly, so we didn't get to enjoy the outside patios and such. The rooms are very nice-no TV's. Breakfasts were wonderful. Having pie and coffee in the afternoon was a treat. They had guest chef's from Bisbee providing dinner. Good stuff. The owners have two "greeter" dogs that are just sweet. I would certainly like to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkeyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

we stayed for three nights and were sorry to leave. The B&B is simple and lovely with original art in the rooms and amazing pies baked daily for tea or after dinner. Guests congregate in the dining room after eating dinner elsewhere and the conversation was interesting each evening. Patrick and Karl are wonderful hosts and attract fascinating guests! The courtyard, surrounded by simple comfortable rooms is charming and understated. After the pies, the hosts and the other guests, the birds are the next best: quail [2 kinds?] and a short drive to see sandhill cranes and snow geese. And then there's Bisbee.... Very special place. We will return.

Room Tip: all similar as far as I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calliope026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you are in the Sierra Vista / Bisbee Arizona area I highly recommend Casa de San Pedro. Karl and Patrick take such great care of their guests. The rooms are spacious and clean. The property is unique and inviting. The food is top notch -- the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. We loved our stay there and would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
11.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
745 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
568 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
302 reviews
15.4 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
15.6 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de San Pedro

Property: Casa de San Pedro
Address: 8933 S Yell Ln, Hereford, AZ 85615-9250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SE Arizona territorial hacienda located on the San Pedro River - one of the Nature Conservancy's Last Great Places on Earth. 10 luxury guest rooms. Only 90 miles SE of Tucson, but only inches from heaven. Perfect for birding, hiking, biking or relaxing. Above al it is quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa de San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De San Pedro Hotel Hereford
Casa De San Pedro Hereford, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing