We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowd pleasing hummingbirds galore”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Crowd pleasing hummingbirds galore”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Yes, I would stay there again, although the key lime pie was a little disappointing. I had hoped for something a little more homemade tasting. The half and half for the afternoon tea was curdled. Breakfast was ok, but could have had a little something extra like a muffin. Really the reason to stay here is the chance for Berylline and White-eared Hummingbirds. If you are planning to visit Ramsey Canyon Preserve right next door, be sure to find out when the Preserve is closed. We got there on a Tuesday hoping to stroll in the Preserve, and alas it was closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays now.
Sitting on the porch in the evening and listening to the Northern Pygmy Owl was great!

Room Tip: We got the lowest priced room which was very pleasant but a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdwatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    19
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
70
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed three days at RCI. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, well maintained, and the breakfasts are "over the top" good. Baked pie every PM helped also.
There are plenty of outdoor activities available in Ramsey Canyon, and other attractions are just a short drive away. Hummingbirds and other birds are plentiful.
We are already planning another trip.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My husband and I spent our 20th anniversary at Ramsey Canyon Inn, it is a magical place. The rooms are exquisite, the breakfast is amazing and the pies, well, I don't think there is a word to describe the pies. If you think your mom or grandma made the best pies wait until you try Shirlene's pies. We loved the canyon with all of the wildlife, especially the hummingbirds. There is a feeder on the window at the breakfast table and Shirlene calls off the hummers visiting the feeder while you are eating a superb breakfast. I read one of the earlier reviews and I have to say the Inn is in excellent shape, it is almost like brand new, there is plenty of lighting in the front of the B & B and Shirlene is the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mound, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My fiancee Michelle and I stayed in one of the cross-creek duplexes, where we cannot (unless by invite) partake of the breakfasts but can still sample those yummy pies. I absolutely recommend the duplexes, as we "did our own thing" with no thought as to time or place. We just relaxed, hiked, ate, napped and repeated for 8 luxurious days. Yes, the duplexes might come across as a tad spartan, but I am quite acceptable of the comfort and privacy available at the bed and breakfast. Contrary to any poster who has said the hosts were "rude," I have always found them cheery, helpful and eager to please. If I only knew more about the B+B business and had the available funds, I would buy this place in a heartbeat. Absolutely worth the trip, and can't wait until Michelle and I can make the trip again! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Just returned from a birding weekend at Ramsey Canyon. We'd booked the b&b a month or two ago, so I was a little worried when I saw the most recent reviews. What a relief to find that this gem is still just what I'd read about in earlier reviews.
The location of the inn is perfect for anyone planning to visit Ramsey Canyon-it's literally feet away from the entrance. The inn has a beautiful & cozy living room to hang out in and watch hummingbirds from its many windows. The bedrooms are good-sized with very comfortable beds. (We stayed in the Magnificent room-which turned out to be our favorite hummingbird as well.) Our hostess , Shirlene, was lovely and welcoming. She serves a family style breakfast at a long table with a hummingbird feeder just outside the window. One can eat and watch hummingbirds at the same time. We saw seven species there during our two day stay.
Many of the other, more experienced birders have stayed there two or three times-and one set of friends were there for the sixth time.

Our only disappointment was that we didn't see an elegant trogon, but I guess even Shirlene couldn't provide that!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I would never stay at this place ever again. The owner is very rude!!! Stay clear of this place

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

It's a beautiful location and the wild birds and pies are fabulous. Breakfasts are ok but nothing special by B&B standards. Our room (Anna's) was clean and comfortable with a good bed, but details (e.g., toilet, locks) needed attention. The place is for sale and one senses that the caretaker and service staff would rather be doing something else. One hopes that a new owner will put some money into some renovations, including a few lights at the entrance so you don't take your life in your hands when approaching after dark.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
7.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
568 reviews
23.0 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
316 reviews
7.2 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
12.1 mi away
Casa de San Pedro
Casa de San Pedro
#1 of 7 in Hereford
181 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29 E Ramsey Canyon Rd, Hereford, AZ 85615-9613
Region: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 28 years this nationally-acclaimed inn has been offering guest comfort & hospitality in a world-class setting. The Arizona Republic proclaimed Ramsey Canyon Inn to be one of the "Top 10 Bed & Breakfasts in Arizona" Bird watchers, hikers, athletes, nature lovers, history buffs and the romantic at heart, herald the inn as an upscale but inviting inn. At an elevation of 5500 feet in the Huachuca Mountains, Ramsey Canyon Inn is nestled in the world famous Ramsey Canyon birding area, just 80 miles southeast of Tucson.Ramsey Canyon Inn offers a peaceful retreat for those seeking to enjoy the wonders of nature right at their finger tips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsey Canyon Inn b&b
Ramsey Canyon Hotel Hereford
Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed And Breakfast Hereford, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing