We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not everything worked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of D K Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
D K Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arco
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not everything worked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The fellow running the place was very nice. When the wifi didn't work, he said I could just pull my car up behind the office and get a good connection there. The next morning when there wasn't hot water to take a shower in our room, he let me take a shower in the room next door that had already been vacated. He made sure the bathroom was clean first. We had a pretty big room and it was mostly clean, except for the spider webs. At an older motel, you have to expect a few problems. It was conveniently close to the EBR-1 Museum and Craters of the Moon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    50
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
31
43
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel features little cottages with a small porch and homey feel. The rooms were clean. There's free wifi and lots of outlets for charging electronics.
It's close to Golden West Cafe and other food options.
The owner is friendly.
I didn't go to Arco to watch television, but have to note that the tv is humorously small--like a computer monitor. My only gripe, if I had to have one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed here several times, and always come back. The building is old but there was fresh paint and the rooms very very clean. The manager and staff were friendly and very helpful. There is a park with a submarine sail right across the street, and you are right under the hill where graduating seniors paint their numbers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over Fathers Day Weekend. The location is just 20 miles from Craters which was our actual destination - we were very happy with the accomodations, we aren't really lovers of the big chain motels and the knotty pine rustic feel of this place fit our taste just fine. My husband really appreciated the room darkening blinds on all of the windows - he tends to be a cave dweller when sleeping - the fridge, microwave and coffee maker all made it possible to keep some drinks, snacks and treats available to haul to Craters where no food concessions are available. The freezer even kept his Ice Cream frozen (big props for that) The owner was very accomodating providing us with extra pillows and even towels specific for use when drying off our motorcycle (which we were able to park right outside our door) after an evening of rain. We are planning on staying again on our way to Yellowstone at the end of the month.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the DK Motel the first part of August and found it comfortable enough. I like fresh air at night, and managed to open the window and let in cool air. Most accommodations have nailed/locked windows, so this was a surprise. There's a gas station next door with a tiny "restaurant" with friendly people. For a quick snack or breakfast on the go, this is ideal. You are also a block away from the famous Pickles Restaurant (fried pickles---no kidding). The manager/owner was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuriko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
446 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a very old motel. It has been around so long that its original telephone number was 42. Room 16 was clean but has seen better days. The television screen was the size of a laptop computer. Even though we were hours early for check-in, the manager did allow us to store our luggage in the room before it was cleaned provided we did not interfere with housekeeping. We had a tough time sleeping. Regulating the room temperature was a challenge and the bed was too soft for me but may have been perfect for someone else. We weren't expecting much and the DK Motel met our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We came in late on a holiday weekend, the women behind the counter said she wasn't the normal clerk but you sure couldn't tell. She was helpful and courteous and she made calls to restaurants trying to find us food. When it became apparent it was too late she insisted we hurry over to the gas station market as they were still cooking at that hour. The rooms were pleasant and had everything needed for a nice stay. I would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arco hotels
0.5 mi away
Arco Inn Motel
Arco Inn Motel
#1 of 2 in Arco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices

Been to D K Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D K Motel

Property: D K Motel
Address: 316 S Front Street, Arco, ID 83213
Region: United States > Idaho > Arco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — D K Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your D K Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d k Hotel
D K Motel Arco, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing