We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, pleasant decor, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelancho's

Pelancho's
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Middlesboro
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lebanon, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant decor, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

On our way to Ohio we decided to spend the night in Middlesboro KY to visit the Cumberland Fap National Park. Checking Trip Advisor we selected Pelancho's for dinner. Thank you Trip Advisor!

We were immediately impressed with the beautiful Mexican-themed dining areas. Beautiful carvings. The food was above average, perhaps "very good". The service was attentive and pleasant. The English-speaking cashier was a pleasant surprise! The beef in the tacos could use a little seasoning but other than that, we had no complaints.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClinchMtnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown,Tennessee
Level Contributor
268 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hot salsa,great waitress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Me and the wife stopped in for dinner on our way home. Seated quickly, drinks ordered and chips/salsa brought to table. Everything was done quick, tasted good. Little small on the portions compared to other Mexican restaurant's we have been too. Will be back if back in the area

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty Food - Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I walked into Pelancho's following a long, hot day hiking around Cumberland Gap. We were hot and tired, and desperate for a good meal before calling it a day. Pelancho's had been recommended by a few of the locals, so we took a chance. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere is bright and festive; however, the music is not intrusive and the place remains fairly quiet and relaxed. Our server could not have been more attentive. We had salsa and chips within minutes of being seated. The salsa is quite good, and the chips were crisp, fresh and not greasy. We were mildly disappointed when we learned that we couldn't order a cold beer; however, Middlesboro and surrounding areas are "dry" ; therefore, tea and coke were the next best things. Our glasses never reached half-full before our server arrived for the refills. The menu is extensive, so there appears to be something to meet every taste. I opted for the fajitas. My husband went for the carne asada, and we split a quesadilla as an appetizer. The portions are very generous, and the food was quite good and served piping hot. We were very pleased with the quality and quantity of food--at a very reasonable price, by the way. We left stuffed, but happy. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TnTraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We chose this dinner destination based on reviews here in Trip Advisor. The service wasn't great (we got seated and had to finally flag down the hostess to get someone to wait on us), but the food was good and there was plenty of it. I had the fajitas, which we should have shared!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanauNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expected better from the reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

As Mexican food restaurants go this was average. The service was good, but the food was a disappointment after the reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelancho's also viewed

 

Been to Pelancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing