We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland Gap National Historical Park

Cumberland Gap National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contains the original trail marked out by Daniel Boone in 1775.
Manchester, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very beautiful and breath taking. We went to the visitors center and from there went up to the top of the mountain (the pinnacle) The view is amazing and the trails are not bad at all--they are blacktopped. My three year old loved it, as well as me and my husband. There was a Native American sitting at the Pinnacle lookout playing a wooden flute and it made everything so serene. Perfect place to kill some time and even better that its free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    90
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful scenery, great hike. Worth a trip. Bring a picnic. We did not get to go into the caverns because they are only guided tours during morning hours. There is a nice visitors center.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deannamarie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, historical park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visit the park yearly when they have their Genealogy Jamboree. We love the historical significance of the area, we love going up to the pinnacle, and hiking out to the gap. It's a beautiful park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way to the Smokies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a great way to break up a 4 hour car trip to Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains. The visitor center is easy to get to and is free. Inside, there is a well-done movie explaining the history of the Gap that also describes the struggles that Daniel Boone's family faced coming through Kentucky. My kids (6,9, and 12) stayed interested through the entire 30 minute presentation. There is also a nice display area and a place for kids to try on pioneer costumes. A gift shop upstairs sells nice, hand-made local crafts.

The kids enjoyed stretching their legs on the huge grassy area at the visitor's center. The walk to the overlook was fun and the view was beautiful. The kids enjoyed standing in two states at one time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdalhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quick stop worth a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at pine mountain state resort park about ten miles north for July 4. On our way home, we decided to see the pinnacles at Cumberland gap as we were so close. After a stop at the visitor center, we drive up to the pinnacles. Besides one other car, our only other companions were three deer we saw along the road and one trail. The trail to the pinnacle (600 feet) is short. View into ky, va and Tennessee were beautiful! Worth the side trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cumberland Gap National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Cumberland Gap National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing