We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paoli, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Charming”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late March. I wish we could have stayed longer. I am a photographer, and came here so that we could spend a day on Cumberland Island. This was perfect. We had room 200, which is very comfortable and spacious. The ferry is within walking distance too. The Inn is beautiful, the owners and staff very gracious and the food was great. You can get a lunch to take to Cumberland for $8.95 each. It was more than I even expected. Such a treat. My sister and I even got in a sunrise shot our last morning. If you walk to the end of the street that the Inn is on....you can get a great sunrise view over the marsh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_IndianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    60
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
73
312
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Beginning with a warm welcome of Southern hospitality, our stay at the Spencer House Inn was comfortable and pleasant. We were given a tour of the home before being shown to our room where we spent two nights in quiet slumber. The location in the heart of the historic district of St. Marys, GA, is so convenient both to the local eating places and to the ferry terminal for the Cumberland Island National Seashore where we had planned an outing. Ashley at the desk and Mike and Mary, the owners, were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with many choices from fruit, yogurt and homemade granola to home baked breads, bagels, muffins and then a hot dish as well--Orange, Almond French toast one morning and 4 cheese omelets the next day. We had requested a picnic lunch for our trip to the beach and our sandwiches, sodas, chips, granola bars and cookies were packed in a soft-sided cooler to handily carry with us. We enjoyed a delightful mini-vacation, thanks to this lovely well-maintained facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We was looking for a place to stay near the Cumberland Island Ferry with ambiance and Southern charm. We got that and more!
We were going over to CI for one day and were getting married. The Inn helped me tremendously with the wedding planning. They gave the best recommendations for hair, makeup, flowers, cake and restaurants. This place is a one stop shop! They accommodated all of our needs for refrigerated items, flower delivery, a lunch picnic for 4 to bring over to the Island for the day and made us feel so special.
I can speak for myself when I say...I felt like we were staying with family. They were just as excited for us... that morning and afternoon. I can't express our thanks enough to this warm, inviting, immaculate and historic Inn. Mike and Mary and Holly are whom we mainly met. Also the other guests were just as friendly...I guess it rubs off on you..
The area that the Inn is set in..is so charming and idyllic..I wish I could've bottled up that ambiance and taken it with us.
They had added personal touches to each room. You can't go wrong choosing any one of their gorgeous rooms. The bed was so comfortable...,the furnishings were antique and charming...Did I mention the breakfasts and afternoon tea and chocolate chip cookies daily? Go and check this place out for yourself...you will not be disappointed...
Also..I wanted to mention for the physically limited person..this Inn is perfect. it has entry ramps and elevator inside the premises. Even though the Inn has 3 stories...they can be steep stairs and for the above mentioned...the elevator was a blessing..
Our elopement couldn't have been more perfect, and I will never forget these wonderful people. We hope to make a return trip on one our anniversaries..they are the best.

Room Tip: The town itself is a where the Inn is located is so quiet and charming..there isn't a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livluvsunsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast. The staff, led by Mary and Mike Neff, were extremely welcoming and attended to my every need. In addition, they are located in the heart of the St. Marys historic district and just a stone's throw from the ferry for Cumberland Island National Seashore. When I visit the area again, I will stay nowhere else but the Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast. You will love their individual attention--it is unsurpassed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeAreTheNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, MA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spencer House Inn is an immaculate bed and breakfast in a great location.Bed linens very nice; Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Buffet breakfast was extensive but lacked "health-conscious" items. Mary and Mike work hard at running an efficient operation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Spencer House Inn on Friday night March 21, 2014. What a pleasant surprise. We wanted to break a short road trip up so we decided to stop off in St. Mary's. We found the Spencer House on line, and couldn't have asked for better.
We were greeted by Mary, who gave us a short tour of the Inn, and also gave us tips on where to go for dinner. We walked from the Inn down to the water, and ended up having a fabulous seafood dinner.
The rooms were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We slept great and woke up to a fabulous breakfast in the dining room. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests, drinking coffee and getting our fill of southern hospitality.
We will go back! Thanks Mary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chico1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room we were initially booked into was too small for a couple with luggage for two weeks travel plus camera equipment for wildlife photography. A congenial negotiation for a larger room at a slightly higher rate was successful, and the new room was ample and comfortable. Breakfasts were better than ordinary, but not outstanding. Low fat/cholesterol food was hard to come by, for example, there was no skim milk. Lunches-to-go could be ordered for a reasonable price. These were ample, but meaty and fatty, with little variety to chose from, and no vegies. The three-floor building had a good elevator for trips up and down with luggage, and a convenient stairway. Ventilation was good. The B&B was conveniently located within a short walking distance of the center of the old town and the waterfront. On two days we took the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore, and the ferry dock was in short walking distance of the B&B. The management was very helpful in supplying information on local amenities and on a boat charter. On the final morning, we had to leave for the airport before breakfast began, and the B&B put up an breakfast-to-go for us at no extra charge, a definite plus! This B&B is a well organized and well run operation.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to select the third floor. It may have the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,473 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
651 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing