We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. Loved it. And don't forget the swamp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2008

My husband and I finished off a tour of the tri-state region by staying 3 nights in this beautiful Inn.
It is conveniently situated only one street away from the shore and very close by to all the main restaurants and shops in the town. This did not mean, however that our stay was anything less than perfectly peaceful!!

The Innkeepers and staff are perfect hosts and have thought of everything to the final detail to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The Inn has had several lives including being a hotel. This has affected the authenticity of the interior, however the hosts have completed the rooms with appropriately tasteful furniture and decoration.

Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and en suite bathroom with a stand alone enamelled roll top bath with shower.However we both found the completely encircling shower curtain a tad claustophobic, and the bath (which had been recently repainted but not re - enamelled) sat on a failry high plynth with only a narrow edge which made it difficult to step in and out ( although a handle was placed on the wall to help with this)

Air conditioning was quiet, with centrally controlled from floor vents which made the room sufficiently cool at night to enable comfortable sleep however during the day the room tended to be somewhat stuffy and warm.

Guests had access to several facilities including communal fridge ( from which you could also purchase wine, soft drinks etc at a very reasonable price),refreshments served in the afternoon, a large reception room complete with piano, a balcony with rocking chairs and ceiling fans, and a library of books, magazines and dvds.

Breakfasts were well catered with a cereal, fruit juice and bread selection, with the option of a freshly cooked hot entree ( which was mainly egg -based the 3 mornings we were there).

The staff and hosts were very helpful and willing to recommend places to visit and eat and were always at hand to book tables, ferry tickets, etc.

We would highly recommend the Sunset Cruise at the Okefenokee Swamp - memorable, informative and romantic. Great value too, only $25 per person for almost 2 1/2 hours.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2008

My husband and I recently returned from St Mary's/ Cumberland Island, Georgia. While in St. Mary's we stayed 3 nights at the Spencer House. The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable & the breakfasts were delicious. The breakfasts included juices, teas, coffee, homemade granola and breakfast breads as well as a hot meal and fresh fruit. We did not find any of the Spencer House staff to be less than friendly and accommodating. Mary, the hostess, is a treat who provided great recommendations for dinner. St. Mary's is a very quaint town and one must go to Cumberland Island while visiting. Make sure to take bug spray and pack a lunch as there are no dining facilities on the Island. Mary will be happy to pack a lunch for your day trip to the Island.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank arhl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We stayed over the 4th of July holiday. Mary & Mike, the hosts, were wonderful. They were courteous, helpful and made sure our every need was met. The rooms were beautifully furnished, clean and spacious.
The St. Marys area is a wonderful place to visit. The St. Marys River, Cumberland Island National Seashore Park and the quaint little city were beautiful and interesting. Our granddaughter had a wonderful time in the waterfront park.
The 4th of July parade went right by the spacious front porch. It was a patriotic, old-time parade with everything from antique tractors to Boy Scout Troops.
We will most certainly return to enjoy the hospitality of the Spencer House.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Satilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

My husband and I stayed for 1 night. Our main purpose of stopping in St. Mary's was to visit Cumberland Island - that was amazing!

Mary, our hostess, was great - very helpful, accommodating, and gave us good recommendations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We have stayed at Mike and Mary's Spencer House three times over the past five years. Our most recent stay was four days, and we enjoyed every minute of it. We have never been disappointed -- everything about this B&B is great, including hospitality, helpfulness, comfort, home-cooked "hot" breakfasts by Mike, style and decor, historical background about the property, location, parking and more. They arranged our day trip to Cumberland Island and even loaned a backpack to us to carry in our supplies. Mike and Mary are most hospitable, and they have managed this property since 1996. They know what they are doing and it shows!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fitzfits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Wonderful experience! Stayed one night and found accomodations truly outstanding. Service was incredible in every way. Room was extremely clean, comfortable and pleasant. Staff was very accommodating of reasonable special requests. Mary offered so many good suggestions for our stay. Breakfast was delicious, and the service was extremely attentive and prompt. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

If you are going to be anywhere near southeast GA or northeast FL, you must stay at Mike and Mary's Spencer House Inn in St Mary's GA. What a wonderful place and equally wonderful people! The breakfasts are outstanding and I promise you won't go away hungry. You will need it to explore the little town of St. Mary's and Cumberland Island. Make sure you have Mary pack you a lunch and take the entire day to visit Cumberland Island. Most of the island is National Seashore and it will take your breath away. Imagine seashore with no condos or hotels! The Spencer House Inn is an excellent place to set up if you want to visit St. Simon's or Jekyll Island in GA or Amelia Island in FL. You can get most anywhere in less than 35-40 minutes. In fact, you are only 35 minutes from Jacksonville airport. Mary is an excellent source of information on what and where to visit. She made our trip extra special!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SDVMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
217 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,560 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0 mi away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: £134 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing