We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent Inn, great staff, great food and just a short walk to everything we wanted to see in St. Marys. Breakfasts were wonderful not just the food but also for meeting other guests and sharing tips on our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were looking for a quick getaway from Central Florida and decided to explore Cumberland Island. We found Spencer House on TA and it had great reviews, and for good reason! Mary was every bit as nice as other guests commented, and the Inn was spotless and classic. We enjoyed the details in the room and throughout the common areas, and relaxed on the large porch in the evening. It was a short walk to the ferry and was convenient for our quick getaway. She and her staff are a wealth of knowledge of the area, assisting us with dinner reservations, ferry information and really making us feel welcome. Only downside I found was that the area did not have many good dining options. Plan on eating very casual and mostly fried fair and you won't be disappointed. If you've not been to Cumberland Island, do yourself a favor and check it out, and when you do, make your plans to stay at the Spencer House.

Room Tip: Our room was right off the 2nd floor porch, which was convenient to enjoy evening cocktails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Mary runs this beautiful house with masterful professionalism, friendliness and care. You feel she wants to deliver the best possible experience for her guests. Our room was a Victorian gem, breakfast was hearty and the packed lunch for our trip to Cumberland Island was generous. You get a feeling of being well looked after here.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband, dtr and fiance, and I spent 3 nights at Spencer House in April. It was wonderful. The house is a beauty: clean and charming with lovely rooms (ours had a claw-foot soaking tub!), soft "oldies" music wafts through the halls along with the aroma of home-baked cookies in the oven before afternoon tea. It's a short walk to the pier to catch the ferry to Cumberland Island (make sure to plan ahead for tours--Innkeeper Mary will help you with that AND pack lunches for your party to take with you). Owners Mike and Mary were so helpful--each evening was like coming home after being out and about. A glass of wine on one of the porches concludes an idyllic day. Close to good restaurants, shops, and museums. I didn't want to leave! Hope to be back to this charming respite.

Room Tip: All rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors looked lovely. There is one guest room on the first floor. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This B&B was perfect for the special get-away for my son and I! Loved the atmosphere, food and great service. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were happy! They packed a wonderful lunch for our trip to Cumberland Island!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in late March. I wish we could have stayed longer. I am a photographer, and came here so that we could spend a day on Cumberland Island. This was perfect. We had room 200, which is very comfortable and spacious. The ferry is within walking distance too. The Inn is beautiful, the owners and staff very gracious and the food was great. You can get a lunch to take to Cumberland for $8.95 each. It was more than I even expected. Such a treat. My sister and I even got in a sunrise shot our last morning. If you walk to the end of the street that the Inn is on....you can get a great sunrise view over the marsh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_IndianaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Beginning with a warm welcome of Southern hospitality, our stay at the Spencer House Inn was comfortable and pleasant. We were given a tour of the home before being shown to our room where we spent two nights in quiet slumber. The location in the heart of the historic district of St. Marys, GA, is so convenient both to the local eating places and to the ferry terminal for the Cumberland Island National Seashore where we had planned an outing. Ashley at the desk and Mike and Mary, the owners, were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with many choices from fruit, yogurt and homemade granola to home baked breads, bagels, muffins and then a hot dish as well--Orange, Almond French toast one morning and 4 cheese omelets the next day. We had requested a picnic lunch for our trip to the beach and our sandwiches, sodas, chips, granola bars and cookies were packed in a soft-sided cooler to handily carry with us. We enjoyed a delightful mini-vacation, thanks to this lovely well-maintained facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongIslandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
215 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: £138 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing