We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was very accommodating, hospitable, quiet and clean, everything we hoped for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast is a charming historic home nestled amongst the Magonolia trees and Confederate Jasmine in the lovely city of St. Marys, GA. This was my second visit to Spencer House Inn and both times were greeted and treated with southern hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcuchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I decided back in January we needed a break from Maine's winter. So we planned a trip in April which included St. Marys, GA. We are happy to say St. Mary's is all your dreams in one. Outdoor adventures, great food and terrific hosts. Mary and Mike are amazing and a great source of information. We loved it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

delightful small town with this wonderful inn and innkeepers that go out fo their way to make sure that you are enjoying your stay. The Spencer Inn itself is fun to snoop around and see the lovely décor of the rooms. Breakfast is hearty- restaurant recommendation was great. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udflyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

So close to I95, but a world away . Glad we found Mary, Mike and the rest of the team. Super nice, clean, comfortable, cozy, and great food. Very nice to find beverages and supplies like sun screen on site for sale at very reasonable prices. The packed lunch for Cumberland Island was terrific and a good value. Great location in the nice friendly walk around town of Saint Mary's. Watching the Mardi Gras parade from the second story veranda a bonus. A nice respite from Vermont winter. We'll be back one day.
Randy and Kathy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent Inn, great staff, great food and just a short walk to everything we wanted to see in St. Marys. Breakfasts were wonderful not just the food but also for meeting other guests and sharing tips on our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were looking for a quick getaway from Central Florida and decided to explore Cumberland Island. We found Spencer House on TA and it had great reviews, and for good reason! Mary was every bit as nice as other guests commented, and the Inn was spotless and classic. We enjoyed the details in the room and throughout the common areas, and relaxed on the large porch in the evening. It was a short walk to the ferry and was convenient for our quick getaway. She and her staff are a wealth of knowledge of the area, assisting us with dinner reservations, ferry information and really making us feel welcome. Only downside I found was that the area did not have many good dining options. Plan on eating very casual and mostly fried fair and you won't be disappointed. If you've not been to Cumberland Island, do yourself a favor and check it out, and when you do, make your plans to stay at the Spencer House.

Room Tip: Our room was right off the 2nd floor porch, which was convenient to enjoy evening cocktails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Mary runs this beautiful house with masterful professionalism, friendliness and care. You feel she wants to deliver the best possible experience for her guests. Our room was a Victorian gem, breakfast was hearty and the packed lunch for our trip to Cumberland Island was generous. You get a feeling of being well looked after here.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
215 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: £139 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing