We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PJL and JWL loved the inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooper City
2 reviews
“PJL and JWL loved the inn.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Spenser House Inn Bed and Breakfast. The location was right in the middle of downtown St. Mary's and was in walking distance of restaurants and the Cumberland Island Ferry. Mary, the owner, met us when we arrived and provided suggestions for dining in the city. She also gave us suggestions for going to Cumberland Island and packed us a wonderful lunch for the trip. Everytime we arrived back at the inn, Mary or one of the staff was there to greet us and ask about our experiences. It felt like we were coming home and that Mary and the staff were genuinely concerned about our well-being. We throughly enjoyed the home made breakfasts and the tea and cookies that were set for us in the late afternoon. We also appreciated sitting on the veranda in the late afternoon watching the city below. We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
301
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My son and I flew into the little airport in St. Mary's and the Inn owner, Mary, picked us up. This Inn was just beautiful and roomy and quiet. The porches were delightful for relaxing and the location of the Inn just a block from the waterfront.
Mary and Bill were wonderful and saw to our every need including loaning us a charger for my iPad, making us reservations for the little tour of the town, and packing us a great picnic lunch for our day at Cumberland Island.
I cannot say enough good things about this Inn!!

Room Tip: We needed two beds and the twin bed room was roomy and the beds were quite comfortable. I am a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Spencer House Inn during our first visit to the St Mary's area. Mary and her staff treated us like old friends. They provided many helpful suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Their breakfasts were a great start to the day. Thanks for everything!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe Vista, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This wonderful old hotel was wonderful. The high ceilings, the color schemes, the service, the breakfast, all were way above average. Mary, the owner, could not have been more helpful arranging our tour of St. Marys, offering advice on what to see and do on Cumberland Island as well as organizing a picnic lunch for our trip. The room had a lovely chaise lounge, a claw foot tub and was near the front porch which offered rocking chairs and glass top tables for cocktail hour. Highly recommend this place. We will visit here again.

Room Tip: All rooms we looked at were nice. We especially liked room 201 which was next to the porch and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurkinaFaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Our family (kids 5, 7 and 11 years) stayed here one night. The b&b and our room 202 is an experience in itself. Great hospitality, lovely room with extra bathtub in the room whitch the girls enjoyed. Lovely being here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Birgit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My parents, husband, and I spent three nights at the Spencer House while we explored Cumberland Island and nearby. The Spencer House is located on a quiet street in a tiny town convienient to little shops and tasty restraunts. Breakfast is served daily and the selection of hot (made to order) and cold items is great. If you let the proprieters know beforehand you can arrange to have a picnic lunch prepared that you take with you to the island! Everything was wonderful. My husband and I had a room with a clawfoot bathtub in it and I really didn't want to leave. If you are going to the Island call the Spencer House beforehand and see how to reserve a guided park ranger tour. The process is a bit cumbersome...

Room Tip: We loved the claw foot bathtub room. Stayed on the second floor and enjoyed the shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPope451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed two nights at Spencer House during the Fourth of July weekend and it is just as lovely as in the pictures. The Inn is meticulously kept clean and the breakfast is delicious. When in St. Mary's, there is no better place to stay than the Spencer House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing