We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of charm and very comfortable.”
Review of Riverview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of charm and very comfortable.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and would recommend it to anyone staying in St. Mary's Georgia. A great base for visiting Cumberland Island as the ferry is literally right across the street. This hotel has great character and very comfortable rooms and beds. Not a five star luxury hotel but if you like the simple life this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvrvwhtl, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. As with any historic building, it is a "labor of love" to upkeep. The charm of the Riverview is in it's character. We are glad you felt welcome. We have great things planned for the Riverview as she nears her 100th anniversary. We do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    69
    36
    26
    16
See reviews for
39
103
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deland, Fl, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although the location of the Riverview Hotel is very convenient if you are visiting Cumberland Island, it does not compensate for the many negative aspects. The hotel is in a general state of deterioration and neglect. There were stains on carpets, chairs, bedspread, etc. There were holes in the porch floor covered with pieces of plywood. The eaves were rotting and hanging down in spots. There were no screens or locks on the windows, which had broken sashes and would not stay open. All of this would have been tolerable and could have been somewhat overlooked had we been able to sleep. We stayed in the Willard Scott room which is directly on an east facing porch. Both nights of our stay there were loud, drunken conversations immediately outside our room until well past midnight, making it impossible to fall asleep. If you decide to stay at this hotel, just be sure to reserve a room which is not located off one of the porches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvrvwhtl, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We take your comments with the utmost sincerity. As with any historic building, it remains a "labor of love" to keep up. This is why we removed the carpets to expose the original heart pine flooring. We also replaced curtains with plantation shutters. Because we have to adhere to strict guidelines for historic properties, it is difficult to keep the windows in good working order with original sashes and ropes, which are hard to find. We do apologize. We are equally disappointed that other guests were disrespectful outside your window. The porch is scheduled to be repaired, as well. We take your comments seriously, and will work to improve these situations, and problems, as you described. Again, please accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in "Martha's room". We liked the view. The room was very small but had a nice view and we weren't in it much anyway. Staff was nice. Great location!! Right across the street from the Cumberland ferry which was perfect for us. The parking says "2 hours" but we parked there for 3 days and never got a ticket or anything. Walking distance to Langs seafood which was delicious.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvrvwhtl, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy your stay was enjoyable. With any historic building, you have to work with what you are given, and it remains a "labor of love." My husband was born and raised in the Riverview Hotel, as was his father before him. It has the charm of yesteryear, and hotels like this are hard to come by nowadays. We continue to work hard to keep it up. The Riverview will celebrate her 100th year anniversary in 2016. Please stay in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is very charming. The people are nice. They will make you a big picnic lunch to take to Cumberland Island. ($8) I liked the cats and dog lounging in the lobby. Our corner room had magnificent windows that open, and the cross breeze was glorious. I don't know if they are finished restoring the place yet, but it still needs a little work, though our bathroom seemed brand new. Our beds were not especially comfortable, and the covers were a little flimsy. THey have wifi, but you have to go downstairs to use it. All the rooms are upstairs with no elevator, so don't take a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoAutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend, we love this place. It is a old very quaint boutique hotel, well worn...much loved. Super friendly...will definitely come back. Only complaint is....this is not a good place for children that are not well behaved, the noises they tend to make running up and down the old wood floors and stairway can make other guests very uncomfortable, and remember when you are on the porch upstairs, those windows are other guests rooms, please respect their privacy and also remember to be quiet so you won't disturb others. Be respectful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Talk about relaxed this is the place. The hotel is across the street from the Ferry. It's next to some great restaurants. The first level of the hotel is where you check on and also a bar & restaurant. This entire town is warm & friendly. But the hotel is a real gem. My only compliant is that I couldn't stay long :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for my visit to Cumberland Island and couldn't have been more pleased. The hoteliers were warm and friendly, prices are more than fair considering this riverfront location in a historic district and my room was lovely and clean (the shower/tub was so clean I took a bath). I stayed in one of the riverside rooms and woke to the sight of seabirds flying past my window and the view of the river and docks. It was quiet at night. There is a "hotel cat" named Daisy that keeps watch at night and is sweet as can be. For only a few bucks, they packed me a generous lunch to take on the Island for my hike. I look forward to coming back.

tips: good food and company at Seagles Saloon downstairs and Borrell's Landing down the road for a nice dinner with a view of the sun setting over the marsh.

Room Tip: Check out the website to choose your room - each is different and they don't all face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolphinswimmer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel

Property: Riverview Hotel
Address: 105 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-4599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverview Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Lodging to Cumberland Island Ferry, The Riverview Hotel circa 1916 has 18 guest rooms each named after some of the notable guests that have either visited or stayed at the hotel over the years. We serve a deluxe continental breakfast daily, wireless internet access, full service bar and restaurant, and pack picnic lunches to carry out. Reasonable rates and convenient location are a plus. Discover history, discover Cumberland Island, discover yourself, at the Riverview Hotel. Relax and enjoy beautiful St. Marys, GA, the little town by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Saint Marys
Riverview Hotel St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing