We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing train ride!”
Review of St. Marys Railroad

St. Marys Railroad
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in St. Marys
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing train ride!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great time riding the St Mary's Express with the General Manager and Engineer. Very informative and educational. 1 1/4 hr ride worth the time and money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tmk2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    8
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, maybe.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was so excited because my kids are really into trains, but the ride is slow and there is not much to see. They try to make it interesting by having the actors speak during the ride and put a show on at some point down the track, but it just wasn't worth the money for my family. The only "sights" to see ate people's houses, brush, and the big excitement a bridge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrrrrg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We rode on the St. Mary's Railway and it was lovely. The outdoor rail ride took over an hour, passing woodlands, marshes, and small rivers. The presentation on Memorial Day was a salute to our veterans. Along the way, we were entertained by actors who depicted historic people who contributed so much to this country, reminding us through their biographies of their achievements. Half way, we stopped and a special program was given by veterans and current service men and woman saluting our flag. The ceremony was very moving that tears came to my eyes and makes me feel proud to be an American. They have special programs throughout the year. I would sit in the 3rd car, towards the back. This activity is for everyone of all ages.

www.stmarysrailroad.com

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ARocco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“American Heroes Train Ride”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I, along with a large group from McIntosh County enjoyed the American Heroes Train Ride yesterday. The open observation cars allowed a nice breeze to keep us comfortable in spite of the temperature. The Heroes--President George Washington, General Robert E. Lee,
Eddie Rickenbacker (Congressional Medal of Honor, 26 aerial victories),
Admiral Eugene “Lucky” Fluckey (Congressional Medal of Honor, Navy Cross-4) and
Master Diver Carl Brashear (Men of Honor)--were informative but the highlight was the National Anthem sung by a very talented young lady and a stirring oral presentation of the poem "I Am The Flag" by a Master Chief (no notes, no mistakes or omissions!). We highly recommend this to anyone who wishes to honor our veterans.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauretta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“American Heros Train Ride”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a wonderful celebration of Memorial Day and greatl way to honor our Veterans. We are rail fans and this fit the bill for a delightful afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Marys Railroad also viewed

 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Been to St. Marys Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing