We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Emma's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Marys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emma’s Cottage House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Jesup, Georgia
1 review
“Great stay at Emma's”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Thanks to Angie and Jimmy at Emma's for a great stay. My wife and I spent the day on Cumberland island after meeting up and taking the 9am ferry over, returning on the 2:45pm voyage home. Once back we met Angie at Emma's who showed us our room on the 2nd floor, 201. It was a good room with Queen bed (King's available in some of the other rooms). The bed was comfortable for both my wife and I (she like's a softer bed, I prefer a very firm bed). The shower worked well, and the room was just big enough. There was a small TV with cable in the room. We cleaned up and went to Lang's seafood down by the water for dinner. Lang's is highly recommended. A local family owns the restaurant, as well as their own fishing boats, and runs the ferry to Cumberland Island. In the morning we had a good size breakfast of yummy French toast with fresh mixed berries, and bacon, with coffee/tea, and juices. They had some drinks in the fridge any time you want. After breakfast we took their beach cruiser bicycles for a short spin around the city before showering and departing. Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markerkenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

First time to stay at a B&B. My entire stay was perfect! The breakfasts were amazing! And I appreciated how Angie and Jim suggested many places to see that I would have never found on my own. The B&B is close enough to downtown if you want to walk but far enough off the main road so it is quiet. They don't treat you as a group but as an individual. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatTampaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Emma's before and after camping at Fort Clinch, for our spring break vacation. We loved the warmth and wonderful hospitality of the owners Angie and Jim. The place itself was so peacful, beautifully decorated and surrounded by georgious landscaping. The front porch faces a rose garden and street that very few cars travel on, so it is very relaxing. The location is just a few blocks from the main street and waterfront, so everything can be reached in just a short walk. As early risers, my husband and I loved having fresh coffee ready in the study each morning at 6:30 am., and the delicous breakfast was made fresh for each guest anytme after 7:30. We discovered St. Marys a few years back and it is one our favorite places and we will always stay here, since we feel this is the best place to stay in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMary1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had a great experience staying at Emma's. The location is very convenient to everything in the historic district of St. Mary's and if you're going out to Cumberland Island you can walk to the ferry in just a few minutes. This is a beautiful house with plenty of public spaces and also very comfortable private rooms.

The staff at Emma's is fantastic and dedicated to doing whatever they can to help guests make the most of their trip. The breakfast they serve each morning is freshly cooked and the best I've had at any B&B type establishments. They also have bicycles available for guests to use and this is a great way to see the area. If you're going to St. Marys Emma's is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Emma's Bed and Breakfast is a lovely, spacious, and well-run B&B. The location is quiet, but very close to downtown St. Marys (note - no apostrophe, when Web-searching) with some restaurants and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. Okenfenokee National Wildlife Refuge is an hour away. Angie and Jimmy keep a well-stocked bird feeder, so there is good birdwatching right from the living room window. They are also wonderful hosts, with lots of information about local history. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and recommend Emma's very highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Emma's. The room was beautiful and clean. It was close to downtown and the docks. We loved the swings at the park by the docks. Just a quiet little getaway. Breakfast was great and served with style. We would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at Emma's BnB on the way to south Florida. It's about 15 min off I-95 so very convenient. Angie and her hubby do a great job of welcoming you and heading you in the right direction for dining. Unfortunately we didn't get to see
much of the town, but it is convenient to Cumberland island and Amelia island. Breakfast was wonderful - Angie whipped up healthy French toast w lots if berries. Tasty! Will definitely return on another trek south!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blippincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
203 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
8.2 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
642 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma’s Cottage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma’s Cottage House

Property: Emma’s Cottage House
Address: 300 W Conyers St, St. Marys, GA 31558-4904 (Formerly Emma's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emma's Cottage House is situated on four acres in historical downtown St. Marys, Georgia. The grounds host many Southern favorites such as magnolias, gardenias, jasmine, azaleas, hydrangeas, and camellias. Many are left over from Miss Emma's own nursery on the property. Current owners have added a goldfish pond and Koi pond to add to the tranquil setting. Enjoy your breakfast on the back porch and watch the numerous birds that make their habitat at Emma's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emma’s Cottage House St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing