We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Marys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emma’s Cottage House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Savannah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Emma's main house and the grounds are very pretty. The room we stayed in was in one of the add-on buildings and on the top floor. Although the room was decorated tastefully, the angled eaves in the room are not tall person friendly! Watch out for your head. Also the TV is tiny and needs to be updated.

The owners are friendly and helpful.

The room was overpriced for what we got. I will most likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Emma's twice. The first time in March 2013 and the second time this month. We were happy with every single thing about it. It is impeccably clean, the breakfast ( Belgian waffles one day with fresh strawberries and real whipped cream; French toast with fresh berries and a side of bacon on the next) was delicious. The price was excellent for the service, location, and overall experience of the place. Can't imagine who would be unhappy with this B&B. St. Mary's itself is quaint and quiet... truly a place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A Great Place For A Group Of People. You Can Hang Out In The Parlor On The Screened Porch In The Gardens. Yummy Breakfast And Hot Cookies. EvEn Wine And Beer. Sorry About All The Caps Something WeIrd Going On With My PHone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamsagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Had a very pleasant one night stay at this lovingly restored home. Jim greeted us and we felt like visiting family after a few minutes. Our room, 403 (the loft bed) was cute as a button and though not part of the main house, offered privacy and the same attention to detail in decor and creature comforts. Breakfast was scrumptious with some of the freshest berries I've ever tasted on gourmet French Toast: this is why people stay at a B &B! Angie is the perfect hostess and has that unique, soft spoken Southern charm without being overly pesky or hovering. Both took time to speak with us and genuinely cared about our stay.
Jim offered his own unique history of the area and cued right in to our interest in wildlife, pointing out the hummingbirds, and telling us about the visiting otters & red fox that peruse the gorgeous setting which is a couple of minutes walk off the beaten path from the Main Street/shops.

Room Tip: The loft was not as claustrophobic as I feared, actually perfectly adequate for 2 smaller people (5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesup, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Thanks to Angie and Jimmy at Emma's for a great stay. My wife and I spent the day on Cumberland island after meeting up and taking the 9am ferry over, returning on the 2:45pm voyage home. Once back we met Angie at Emma's who showed us our room on the 2nd floor, 201. It was a good room with Queen bed (King's available in some of the other rooms). The bed was comfortable for both my wife and I (she like's a softer bed, I prefer a very firm bed). The shower worked well, and the room was just big enough. There was a small TV with cable in the room. We cleaned up and went to Lang's seafood down by the water for dinner. Lang's is highly recommended. A local family owns the restaurant, as well as their own fishing boats, and runs the ferry to Cumberland Island. In the morning we had a good size breakfast of yummy French toast with fresh mixed berries, and bacon, with coffee/tea, and juices. They had some drinks in the fridge any time you want. After breakfast we took their beach cruiser bicycles for a short spin around the city before showering and departing. Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markerkenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

First time to stay at a B&B. My entire stay was perfect! The breakfasts were amazing! And I appreciated how Angie and Jim suggested many places to see that I would have never found on my own. The B&B is close enough to downtown if you want to walk but far enough off the main road so it is quiet. They don't treat you as a group but as an individual. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatTampaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Emma's before and after camping at Fort Clinch, for our spring break vacation. We loved the warmth and wonderful hospitality of the owners Angie and Jim. The place itself was so peacful, beautifully decorated and surrounded by georgious landscaping. The front porch faces a rose garden and street that very few cars travel on, so it is very relaxing. The location is just a few blocks from the main street and waterfront, so everything can be reached in just a short walk. As early risers, my husband and I loved having fresh coffee ready in the study each morning at 6:30 am., and the delicous breakfast was made fresh for each guest anytme after 7:30. We discovered St. Marys a few years back and it is one our favorite places and we will always stay here, since we feel this is the best place to stay in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMary1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
198 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kingsland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma’s Cottage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma’s Cottage House

Property: Emma’s Cottage House
Address: 300 W Conyers St, St. Marys, GA 31558-4904 (Formerly Emma's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emma's Cottage House is situated on four acres in historical downtown St. Marys, Georgia. The grounds host many Southern favorites such as magnolias, gardenias, jasmine, azaleas, hydrangeas, and camellias. Many are left over from Miss Emma's own nursery on the property. Current owners have added a goldfish pond and Koi pond to add to the tranquil setting. Enjoy your breakfast on the back porch and watch the numerous birds that make their habitat at Emma's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emma’s Cottage House St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing