We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but Not what we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Marys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emma’s Cottage House
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint but Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were excited to stay at Emma's Cottage House after reading reviews and seeing pictures online and even upon driving up to the location.

The stay after that turned mediocre at best.

We knocked on the front door of the main house and were greeted by the innkeeper's daughter (with a screaming baby in the background) who searched for our key and paperwork and eventually led us to our room.

From the pictures online, we recognized the front rooms of the house but they were off limits to guests. Also the main house porch which is also on the website was off limits as well.
The only rooms available are in the cottage house which is quaint and quiet.
There is a "common area" for breakfast and relaxing if you wanted to do puzzles or play board games.

Our room was upstairs and was tastefully decorated. One thing that threw us off was the placement of a large box fan and stand up fan in the room. When we arrived, the A/C was on but it was quite HOT! in the room. The thermostat read 85 degrees and kept inching upwards to 97 degrees. We called from our cell phone to the main line because there was no phone in the room to reach the front desk. We alerted the Angie of the HOT room and she said that it tends to get hot on the top floor and should cool down - it did not.

About a half hour later Jimmy came to the door to assess the issue and told us that because this room is on the top floor and the roof is black and the weather is hot and humid, it takes a long while to cool off especially in the middle part of the day. They also stated that they had this same issue with the same room 2 weeks prior and were told by the A/C company that there was nothing they could do.

We found this quite preposterous. We are Floridians, work in an outside type environment in the heated and humid part of the day, so we understand weather but that should be no excuse for poor A/C circulation. We also tend to utilize the room during the day so a HOT! room would not be acceptable.

The innkeepers idea to try to correct the problem was by installing a portable A/C unit.
Yes, this did help to cool the room down and did make the room more bearable but was not very ascetically pleasing. Also the television in the room was so small that it was a strain to watch.The bathroom shower head was small, ancient, and full of calcium and lime buildup.

When we went down to breakfast we were quite disappointed that the scrumptious breakfast we read about online was nowhere to be found.

We could help ourselves to a full array of child-type cold cereals and oatmeal that would need to be microwaved, or try some of the frozen Thomas bagels or fresh fruit.
There was also opened juice bottles, coffee and tea options available. One morning there was a homemade blueberry cobbler yet most was gone before 9AM.
When staying at a bed and breakfast or inn you expect a home cooked, delicious meal, not ready made snack items.

Overall, the experience was not worth the monied paid.
When we return to St. Mary's Georgia, we will not entertain the idea of staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    10
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room we booked was the smallest room of the group, but it was very comfortable, quite cute and perfect for our needs. Right next to our room was the breakfast area, stocked to the brim with juices, fresh fruit, cereals, oatmeals, breakfast bars and a Kurig coffee maker. We felt like a guest in our friend's home! We loved being able to get up early and load our backpacks with our cold drinks (the owners let us use their icepacks!) and snacks for the day before heading to Cumberland Island. In the evening we borrowed the beach comber style bikes and rode the short 2 blocks into the main part of town and had dinner. I'm no bike rider, but these bikes were easy to use and the streets very friendly and easy to navigate. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating as well. Would definitely stay here again or recommend to friends! This room did have stairs leading up to the bathroom, so not a good choice for those in wheelchairs or difficulty getting up stairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

St Marys is one of our favorite towns in the World and anytime we visit St. Marys we can always count on an amazing stay here. Peaceful, clean, beautifully decorated and the most hospital owners that any guest could ask for. Jimmy and Angie are so warm and being from the area are so knowledgable about this beautiful area. We love the help yourself breakfast room where you can have access to whenever you wake up. Being early risers we love having our coffee and breakfast goodies ready and we were even surprised with a delicious homemade cobbler one morning. My husband and myself can't wait to return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMary1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had reservations and nearly lost a wheel 5 miles from our exit after traveling back up north from the Florida Keys. We were able to get a tow to a nearby. I called to tell them we would be checking in late and they offered to pick us up from the garage. They showed us around and explained some history on the way to the hotel. They also took us back to the garage after our visit to Cumberland Island when the car was ready. That is way above and beyond expectations! They made a potential really bad situation seem not so bad. Everything worked out!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a combination business/pleasure trip after finding it on the Visit St. Mary's website. Quaint and clean, the landscaping is gorgeous. Jimmy was so helpful and knowledgeable. Next time I'm in the area, I'll be here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was the most Charming place you'll ever visit!! Angie & Jimmy are very welcoming & their Southern hospitality was very much appreciated. This is a true gem in a special little town. If you're looking to get away from the city crowds for "peace & quiet" & plenty of R&R look no further!! This Historical Home is located on a beautifully landscaped yard with so many large Oaks, Magnolia trees & lovely flowers to admire..We stayed in 2 rooms during our wkend stay (King)#401 & #501 (King) & LOVED experiencing their unique furnishings! #501 was our favorite with a separate, upstairs apt & most dreamy bed(&pillows), I've ever slept in!! We did NOT want to leave...We appreciated their special treats of fresh fruit, oat meal, cereals, yogurt, banana bread & bagels (much MORE than a "continental" brkfst) & MUCH HEALTHIER than Bacon & eggs!! They also had a "common" living room/kitchen area with Keurig Coffee, Milk/OJ/Apple/Cranberry Juice and Wine in fridge. We especially appreciated riding their nice Schwinn bikes down the street to catch the 9am "Ferry" to Cumberland Island (left bikes safely @ Market Street Cafe, local store they own nearby til we returned at end of day). We forgot our backpacks & they had lunch "bags" they loaned us for our "picnic" lunch to take to cumberland (we also purchased @ Market Street cafe). The bikes and outdoor fire pit are avail to enjoy. 2 nites were not enough!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Emma’s Cottage House, formally known as Emma’s Bed and Breakfast (March 2014). We were a little skeptical when we read the reviews that it was no longer deemed a “Bed and Breakfast”. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Emma’s a couple years back and were worried that it wouldn’t be what we had previously enjoyed. Thank goodness, we were pleasantly surprised. Not only were the room rates $40 less than the last time we stayed in room 501, but they still included a hearty continental breakfast. We were so full from the selection of fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals, yogurts, and juices that we were barely hungry for lunch. The $$ we saved with a less expensive room allowed us a delicious fried shrimp dinner at the quaint riverfront restaurant, Lang’s Seafood. Emma’s Cottage House is by far the best place to stay in St. Mary’s, Georgia. My family has travelled down that way for the past 20 years. I am so thankful for such a cozy and comfortable place to stay. Same as last time, the hosts, Angie and Jimmy are incredibly hospitable and sweet. Hope to make it back soon with the kiddos to enjoy Cumberland Island!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytwinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingsland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma’s Cottage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma’s Cottage House

Property: Emma’s Cottage House
Address: 300 W Conyers St, St. Marys, GA 31558-4904 (Formerly Emma's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emma's Cottage House is situated on four acres in historical downtown St. Marys, Georgia. The grounds host many Southern favorites such as magnolias, gardenias, jasmine, azaleas, hydrangeas, and camellias. Many are left over from Miss Emma's own nursery on the property. Current owners have added a goldfish pond and Koi pond to add to the tranquil setting. Enjoy your breakfast on the back porch and watch the numerous birds that make their habitat at Emma's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emma’s Cottage House St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing