We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel but still very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott at the University of Dayton
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel is a little older but it still is in good shape. The pool area is very nice and the staff is friendly. Good hotel for the price. Only complaint is that the bathroom drain did not drain at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAJ788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for three days and two nights. The hotel is very large but friendly staff work there. The rooms were large and clean. The pool was inside and outside with a large area for sunbathing. Exercise room was great with a locker room. Modern decor with lots of extras. The staff recommended local attractions that were great.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the river are very relaxing, rooms with views of the park are pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here while on college visits. The room was $119, which is much less than what I am use to paying. Right next to University of Dayton. Very well maintained room for a bit older hotel and was clean. I would recommend this hotel. There is a Courtyard across the street (river) which looks new if this should be booked up. Tried one of the restaurants for lunch and the food was fine, but it took a long time, almost 30 mins., to get our lunch. They did have a laundry which might be helpful for some.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xuna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

It is a nice hotel but I think the biggest problem was it was full. The top sheet on one bed had the border torn down several inches. The second day we returned to the room at 3:30 PM and the room was not made up. A call to the front desk assured us housekeeping would be notified. Housekeeping did not get anyone to the room for over an hour. Then only one trash can was emptied and the other was full and the coffee was not restocked. Another call to the front desk and an reply that it would be taken care of. The no one ever showed up with the coffee and we emptied the trash can ourselves. We were in room 116 which is across the hall from the ice machine. Didn't hear people getting ice very often but would not take this room again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmidtktally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Location was convenient to Clarion Park and next door to the university. Hotel has plenty of parking. The rooms were nice, clean and well appointed. Meeting rooms were big and well lay out. The indoor/outdoor pool area was interesting, and a good place to gather.

Room Tip: Mostly Itallian food in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NcTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I wanted a place close to the Carillon Park and you couldn't get much closer. It was just down the road. The Marriott was next to the University of Dayton. The hotel itself was very spread out. It seemd like it would be good for a convention or meeting as there were several large meeting rooms on the first floor. We arrived late in the evening and didn't have time to do much. The fitness room was very well equiped and the pool was both indoor and out door combined. Unforetunately, we didn't partake. We did use the computers in the business center for a while. The TV channels in the room were terrible when you first turned on the set--all full of static, but is seemed to clear up one the set was on. The beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. The front desk staff was helpful in educating us on shopping options in the area.
The only disappointment for me was the breakfast. I had expected the typical continental breakfast where you help yourself. It was a restaurant style breakfast. When I told the front desk people that the reason we picked this hotel over the other Marriott hotel across the river was the free breakfast, she checked and said the cost of breakfast was included in our room. I'm glad I asked or we would have been billed. It was a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Lobby was clean and nice, great staff, friendly and helpful.

Now onto the room. A very strong order of mildew was down the full length of hallway. Told front staff about it and someone sprayed the hallway with a deoterizer which cleared the smell up for 2 hours. The next morning the hall smelled just like when we checked in.

The room was clean, but furniture was worn. The windows had spider webs on the inside and had never been cleaned in sometime. Bathroom was clean, but toilet seat was made of a thin plastic "so don't sit on the toilet seat when down".

The beds were very soft, but ok if you don't have back problems. There was nothing in the room that told you about Dayton, like a map, places to eat etc. . .

Breakfast is good, fairly priced ( 2 eggs, hash browns, sausage, toast, juice and coffee about 12.00 w/o tip. The only problem is it took almost 40 mins. to get served once order was placed.

Location for hotel was not the best. We were there on business and placed in this hotel by another organization. It was a 20 minute drive to our meetings each way, longer on the weekends. Not much in the order of good restaurants around the hotel either. A lot of construction going on around the hotel. Appeared they where building a new hotel next door.

So, I think is you want to be closer to good restaurants, there are other hotels along Hwy 74 that are better by a long shot.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 360travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#19 of 46 in Dayton
418 reviews
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton North
Courtyard Dayton North
#17 of 46 in Dayton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at the University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at the University of Dayton

Address: 1414 S Patterson Blvd, Dayton, OH 45409-2105 (Formerly Dayton Marriott)
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott at the University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a park-like setting on the University of Dayton campus, the Marriott at the University of Dayton, Ohio is moments from downtown and major corporate and government facilities. All 399 Dayton hotel rooms, including Concierge level rooms and suites, are stylishly decorated and feature luxurious bedding and complimentary high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. Let our acclaimed chef entertain your taste buds with locally sourced ingredients at Dewberry 1850 restaurant. Dewberry 1850 also serves up a variety of local and international brews and cocktails. Discover amenities such as a relaxing indoor/outdoor pool and an on-site fitness center. A spacious choice for meetings and conferences, this Dayton, OH hotel has state-of-the-art facilities, first class catering, and a professional dedicated staff. With all we have to offer, choosing among Dayton hotels is easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott at the University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Marriott At The University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing