We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Dayton South
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Sad little hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I wonder how long the Days Inn brand will actually keep this hotel under it's name?

We were directed to stay here because the original hotel we booked was 'over booked'. Thankfully the 1st hotel payed for one of our nights at the Days Inn South.

We were given a Non-Smoking room with smokers on both sides and with the thin walls we got fumes in our room. The room has not been updated since it was probably built. The curtain was functional but still had nothing to do with the decor of the room. The TV cabinet had a broken drawer on it and the TV was an old 1990's (at best) TV that the color wasn't right, everything had a pink hue to it. The remote had no numbers and only worked when held a certain way in a certain part of the room. The popcorn ceiling had lots of water damage and patch work on it, we were on the top floor of a 2 story building. Also, there's a freeway RIGHT next to the hotel, ask for a room farthest away from the road noise.

Now the bed.....it was actually comfortable to lay on. The bedding was clean however the covering blanket was just as old as the hotel.

The air conditioning unit, the knobs were not functional, no way to change the temperature in the room. We did get options on how much air but that was about it.

We did not take part in the breakfast. The location of the hotel is not far from many modern eateries and an impressive size mall.

You would think that with it's proximity to 2 major freeways and the mall that the owners of this location would put in a little TLC into their hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    27
    32
    54
See reviews for
48
23
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellston, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Room was so hot like a sauna. It was very cold out. Apprx. 1" open crack all arounf frame in door, still too hot had to turn on air conditioner, which did not work had to open door to cool room down Toilet stopped up. Water ran all time in the tub. Extended stay is upstairs, don't know who it what is in the rooms, noisy all night.
I have stated there many times in the past several yrs this last yr it has gone down hill severely
I left my cell phone charger in room. Called them they want $10.00 to mail it to me. The motel is for sale and they won't fix anything. The faucets in tub are just hanging there. Felt very unsafe with all the goings on on top floor. Parking lot hazardous due to ice. Do not stay here!
Too bad management has let this motel decline to such a degree.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

It was a very last minute booking we made on the Columbus Day long weekend Saturday. We got this room at a fairly decent rate (just slightly over fifty bucks

We arrived late night and this inn consisted of two buildings which were not connected. Guy checked us in was the boss of the property. It was smooth and we were given a room in the next building. Room was just okay for an overnight stay and we were not picky as we just needed a room to sleep. Area was a little sketchy but were told it was a safe area.

We got everything we needed in the room and all basic stuff were provided. Room was clean and bed was alright. We did not get tried the breakast in the morning as we were in rush to down south. For the price, we were happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank JDMEvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Manager at Days Inn Dayton South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Days Inn Dayton South. We look forward to providing you with great service and a nice safe room.



We will see you soon.
Days Inn Dayton South!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lets begin with the state of customer service and the lack luster on using a online web site to book a hotel on the go. Hotels and hotels website are a thing of the past with customer service and guest respect . Last minute business trip to Dayton Ohio and was booked into this hotel with a rude manager and a smelly, small, disgusting hotel room. Bathroom was so small that you could not turn around in it. At no point in time did I feel comfortable nor was this hotel up to standards. Exterior doors hotels with questionable bed sheets with hair in the bed and things in hotel corners that gave the creeps not been cleaned in a long time. The internet service was terrible as well as I got out early in the morning to go somewhere else to get a shower at counterpart hotel room that has space in it. Also, the bathroom had a use wash cloth hanging over the shower rod. This hotel was terrible and has ended my career on booking anything on line. Just one terrible stay and lack of customer service. With over 220 nights a year in hotels around the world, and this one and the web site for hotels online booking should go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus Y, General Manager at Days Inn Dayton South, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay. Our goal at Days Inn Dayton South is for 100% guest satisfaction. I apologize that you didn't feel your expectations were met during your last stay with us. I hope that you will give us another chance to accommodate your lodging needs the next time you're in Dayton. If you have any comments or questions please feel free to contact me directly at the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dayton - South
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton South / Miamisburg
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Dayton South / Miamisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dayton South

Property: Days Inn Dayton South
Address: 1944 Miamisburg Centerville Rd, Dayton, OH 45459-3812 (Formerly Econo Lodge South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dayton South 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-675 exit 2 and I-75 exit 44 between Miamisburg and Centerville. Walking distance to many popular restaurants and shopping including the Dayton Mall, Southview Hospital is directly across the street. Our guest rooms offers popular amenities like coffee makers, hair dryers, iron and ironing board and refrigerator and some rooms do have microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dayton
Dayton Econo Lodge
Days Inn Dayton South Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing