We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Dayton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Dayton
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Really nice staff, clean standard size room. Updated decor small bathroom. Bedding was clean (Super white crisp sheets and comforter). Downtown location was easy to get in and out. Free self park garage adjacent to hotel. In room fridge. Breakfast is upstairs but not included, so we walked two blocks and had several choices at nearby shops.

Pool and area was clean but chairs were old and stained and washed out lookingand had plenty pool towels.

Good price, good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you so much for the review of the hotel. I am glad to hear that the staff was helpful. The area that surrounds us offers a great place to walk around and shop. I can only hope that the next time you are in town you will join us for breakfast, the rooftop offers a great view of Dayton. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    111
    72
    41
    19
See reviews for
60
48
19
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Robert, the van driver, is awesome! He is extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Robert is a definite asset to the hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiEmiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear MimiEmiline,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, Robert is extremely dedicated to our guests and I am pleased to hear that he made your stay enjoyable. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with our shuttle service. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to the Dayton area.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is an average hotel that is not up to what you'd expect of a Crowne Plaza, especially decor-wise. In general, the staff was very helpful and does pretty well with what it's given to work with, a hotel in a declining, but surprisingly clean, area in a city which has been hit by hard times. The hotel is easy to find from the high way, and is located across the street from the Convention Center. You can opt for valet parking at a charge or park it your self for free. The garage, which serves the hotel and the Convention Center is separated from the hotel by a street, but there is a very convenient elevated walkway from the garage to the hotel. It was safe enough while I was there, but it feels a little barren and unsettling. This is just not a thriving area of Dayton. The rooms are clean, if a little spare; the bed was comfortable and the internet worked just fine. The Club Breakfast Room/Lounge is clean and o.k. food-wise, but has limited hours and is not open for breakfast on weekends. Newspapers are in this elevator lobby. The upstairs restaurant and bar are very spare decor-wise, not plush or necessarily welcoming/comfortable. For what it is, there is a view of that part of Dayton. The food is mediocre hotel food. The area around the hotel has a fair share of shuttered store fronts, but it does have a few restaurants. A coffee shop, limited hours, is a couple of blocks away and a casual/sports-like restaurant is across a small park next to the hotel. If you take the short walk toward the Orgon District - Jay's has good, fresh seafood and a funky Smokin Bar B Que near the underpass has very interesting BBQ and smoked hamburgers. The local icon - the Pine Club (no reservations, no credit cards and no desert) - is easy to get to via the hotel shuttle, which worked like a charm. If you are going to Dayton and are considering this area, it's an o.k. experience, with some conveniences and a few high lights, food-wise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthego005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

i was a guest this weekend and left a very disappointed guest for several reasons. The major disappointment was that the hotel lobby nor meeting rooms HAD AIR CONDITIONING!! The temperature in Dayton was 104 degrees and I was attending a large convention. It was not a pleasant experience and yet I paid a rate of $100 per night for my stay. There was air conditioning in my room but the housekeeping did a poor job of cleaning my room. Upon arrival the tub was dirty and a dirty towel was in the bathroom. The ice machine on the floor I was on and the two floors above me were all not working! These are not experiences I would expect to have at a Crowne Plaza hotel, especially not at a convention. I travel often and am not at all accustomed to such poor conditions. This was all after a hotel renovation!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damascus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you so much for sharingyour experience with us reguarding your recent stay. It is feedback like this, both positive and negative, that enables us to grow and work towards our goal of being the hotel of choice when traveling into the Dayton area. I have reviewed your feedback on the room with both my housekeeping and maintenance teams to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that in your future travels to Dayton we can have the opportunity to show you what are hotel can offer.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My boo and I decided to get a room we do this once or twice a month This time we did a two night stay at THe crowne plaza hotel I went on the internet it was 119.00 plus tax in the upper floor club suite I was supposed to get a club scene free drinks and food but come to find out it was giving cause of the holiday but not only that I was told they only do this monday-friday cause thats when the two workers that run the club works now what kind of b.s is that when it would be better on weekends so when we get there we told thats not happening for us so the manager takes off 20.00 dollars wow 20.00 dollars on top of that the food was good but costly it was a nice hotel but for that price for two nights its not worth it (SO WHEN YOUR HOTEL OFFERS THE WHOLE PACKAGE ON THE WEEKEND LET ME KNOW )ITS A SHAME GET IT TOGETHER OVER THERE

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MzDiva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear MzDiva_12,

hank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
320 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I guess every hotel runs down after a time, but when they charge three figures for a room, I'd like to see better upkeep.

We checked in recently due to a power failure at home and a heat wave. The hotel staff could not have been nicer, and they were quite efficient. Our room was nicely placed in the corner of the highest available floor, putting us well away from the noisy parties going on in their lower floors.

The room was serviceable, not outstanding. They provide all of the standard amentieis, but nothing above the ordinary. Upkeep problems included bathroom tile that needed re-grouting, a shower controller mounted upside-down so that turning to "hot" yielded cold, an extremely ugly and badly worn hall carpet, and an elevator that was trashed (perhaps from last night's partiers, and perhaps the hotel cleaning crew got the goop off the mirror and the litter off the floor later that day?).

Parking is in a public garage a little over a block away, or you may opt to have valet parking. The hotel validates your ticket so parking is free, but patrons should know that on weekends when there's a major event in the convention center across the street, available spaces might be a challenge to find.

We did not use the hotel restaurant on this visit, but on previous occasions we thought it was very good. Their breakfast/brunch menus have been excellent.

If you're visiting Dayton to do something near this hotel--say, at the convention center or the trendy Oregon district nearby--then location might justify the expense. But for a $100+ room, I'd like to see better maintenance and a more attractive decor. Perhaps a major remodel is on their agenda in the near future? I'd hope so.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Housekeeping terrible. Room size and layout- terrible. Bathroom- pathetic. Upstairs restaurant and bar era resembles something out of the 70's. The food I saw resembled a fast food diner.
The hotel itself is in the bad part of town. This means definitely no walking around at night irrespective of what anyone says.
Not somewhere I would stay again nor recommend.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere on the other side of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Mr. Goldberg,

I would like to thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the room layout did not meet your expectations. It is guest feedback, positive and negative, that provides us with an opportunity to grow. I am excited to say that we are currently working on our restaurant menu. The breakfast menu is brand new and the other menus are to follow, however, we do offer a wide variety of food; this does include sandwhich items and lighter fair as well has our "fuller" entrees.

We have spoken to the President of the Miami Valley Crime Prevention Association and Police Officer, Chris Pawelski, reguarding any safety concerns about Dowtown Dayton and the surrounding areas, his response is posted below:

I have spent quite a bit of time researching the crime statistics for the entire Downtown region and what continues to be a problem is perception… not reality.

I will offer this - on numerous occasions the Dayton Police Department is asked to give safety advice on a wide variety of crime issues, including traveling downtown. A typical response is to travel in groups and pay attention to your surroundings. I personally tell people (suburban and urban citizens) all the time that they play the biggest role in preventing crime. There is very little 'random' violent crime in Dayton, but to ensure safety, citizens need to know what is going on around them and not be consumed on their phone or other distractor. Most of the purse snatching and robbery suspects in any location across the nation look for an easy target - someone who is not paying attention to their surroundings.

Please pass on my contact information to whomever and I will be happy to share with them any information regarding crime and the police department for the City of Dayton.

Chris Pawelski, Dayton Police Officer
President Miami Valley Crime Prevention Association
937.554.5752

Again, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that were experienced while you were staying with us. If you should happen to travel to Dayton in the future, we would love the opportunity to showcase what we are really about.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Property: Crowne Plaza Dayton
Address: 33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing