We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Stanwood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Dayton, OH is in a pretty convenient location, and within walking distance of the Oregon District (cute shops and restaurants). The hotel itself is an older property, but they have made some nice renovations. The staff is friendly and helpful. The Stars Restaurant and Lounge, at roof level, has a great view of the city. The food is average. The only real complaint that I have about this property is the loud air conditioning units in the rooms. Granted, I was very grateful to have air conditioning at all during a long stint of high 90 degree temperatures, but I would recommend that you get a pair of complimentary earplugs from the front desk when you check-in. Otherwise, this hotel is a very good choice in the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am pleased to hear that you are enjoying the renovations. Our staff has worked hard to ensure that the Crowne Plaza is the place to stay during a trip into the downtown area. Our chef is putting together a great new menu; we hope that during your next trip into Dayton you will be able to try it out. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza, we look forwarding to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    124
    85
    49
    24
See reviews for
68
54
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is finishing a renovation. The new guest rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms are tiny but that is what you get with an older hotel. Staff at rooftop bar are great.
Housekeeping management needs to change. Guest was moved from one suite (still being renovated) to another whose carpet was not worn from too much vacuuming. Housekeepers in my room did not deliver soap, shampoo, etc. Unacceptable. Banquet rooms never saw a vacuum either. Window treatments were missing; thus the sun was blinding guests attending meetings - and staff had no plan how to remedy. Back-of-house banquet / kitchen staff were rude. Banquet staff serving the meetings were absolutely charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear SamanthasDad,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience; it is our guests' reviews that allows us to continue to grow. I would like to apologize that you had to experience any inconveniences while you were staying with us. The hotel is wrapping up a renovation and there are a few details that we are still tying up. However, I am pleased to hear that the service staff was able to accomodate your needs, thank you for those kinds words. It was a pleasure to host your group while you were in Dayton. We hope for the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The staff was very helpful. Our fridge quit and I called at 10:30 at night and a working one was delivered promptly. We needed extra towels, again promptly brought to our room. That kind of service doesn't happen at many hotels.
The room was nicely decorated and the beds comfortable.
Overall a refreshing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Davesgrl,

Thank you so much for the kind words and the recognition to the staff. Crowne Plaza is a place to go to feel refreshed and ready for your day. I am pleased to hear that we were able to provide this for you. We hope that the next time you are in the Dayton area we can welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was at this location a couple months ago when I came home to visit my family. Again, I made another trip back and decided to stay at this location again. Let me say right away I'm giving the overall rating a 4 but it was almost a 3.

Honestly, the place is probably the best place in Dayton to stay these days. If you want to stay in downtown it's really the ONLY choice. Don't even consider The Dayton Grand Hotel...it's TOTAL trash ever since Doubletree sold it off.

As for my stay this time around, it was all pretty much the same as the last time...okay, clean enough and more than comfortable. However, the housekeeping staff is REALLY, REALLY bad and REALLY lazy!! I experienced this same issue the last time. The second day of my stay the housekeeper zipped through while I was out and did the minimum she had to do to check me off. Towels were left and that's about it. She did empty the trash and left some coffee supplies. The bed was horribly made and it didn't like like any care was really given. Then on the third day of my stay I requested my room be made up a little early because I wasn't feeling well. The front desk staff was great and said they'd have someone right up. So I disappeared for 3 hours to have a meal with a friend. When I got back...the room was still a mess and there were no housekeeping staff anywhere on the floor. I had plans later in the day for dinner so I left at 3:30 and ask again that my room be made up. When I returned at 7PM, the room had been entered but the attached pictures shows the lack of attention. Nothing major but you can tell the attitude I received was "I don't have time for you as a guest so I'm just gonna try to get away with basically doing nothing". You'll notice the bed looked like crap, the pillows were just thrown over on the chair (I didn't do that). The coffee supplies were forgotten and I had ONE glass left from my 3 day stay. The day prior she didn't leave me any clean glasses either. So sad that the little things mean a lot to me but they do as I tend to get a lot of use out of my rooms when I travel. So I called the front desk (who were amazingly friendly and helpful)...they immediately sent up the porter with new glasses and a nice supply of coffee for the evening and following morning. Again, doesn't seem like a big deal but those things are important to me. Mostly because of the message received from housekeeping with the frumpy room details. Pillows everywhere except where they're supposed to be, no supplies, dirty glasses. Really ticks me off.

Anyway, I'll have to really think long and hard if I'm going to keep staying here on my visits home. I think the next time I'll go over to The Marriott to see how things are going there these days, it's been a while since I've stayed there. I really had high hope for The Crowne Plaza but outside of the front desk staff, everyone else could care less.

Room Tip: Splurge for a club level room for the drinks and breakfast...nothing crazy but a nice feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear scottyhouston,

I want to thank you for your kind words. Our staff has worked very hard to be the peferred hotel in Dayton. I am sorry to hear that you experienced any inconviences during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to ensure you that this was an unlikely circumstance, not the norm of the Crowne Plaza Dayton. Again, thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Dayton, we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to your family.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Hotel is very nice clean, you can pull into the hotel to drop off and they do validated parking.
But for Dayton Ohio the price for the room was not great, if i did not have to go to Dayton i would have gone to sleep in the car.
Lets face it Dayton, Oh is not New York City so why do they charge $120 a night
Downton is dead nothing to do the location of the hotel is the hart of downtown next to the conv
but still the city is not active at all so i could not see why i had to pay so much

To all the reader the place is great but for the price you shuld fly to NY

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Coolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear 0CoolG,

Thank you so much for your review. Our hotel is located in the heart of the city; it is an ideal location for the Dayton traveler being so close to the convention center as well as the oregon district and just miles from the air force base and numerous shopping centers. We offer a competitive rate to the hotels in the Dayton area, and with our renovatin just complete we offer brand new accomodations. I am sorry to hear that you are not fond of Dayton or the surrounding area, but for the Dayton traveler we offer the best view of the city from our restaurant and a great location, so if you must travel to Downtown area we would love to welcome you with all we have to offer. If we can assist you further on anything that the city has to offer please contact us directly at 937.229.9835.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a sales conference and was more than pleased with the banquet rooms as well as the courtesy of the staff. We had a nice time at the bar/restaurant on the top floor, which was so nice people who lived locally were commenting on it being a nice place for a date. The quality of my room was very nice - new furniture and very clean. I'd highly recommend this hotel for both individual and group use. It's also very close to the Oregon District for those interested in staying somewhere close to several bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Ryan M,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your time at the Crowne Plaza. We have made extreme changes to both the banquet facilities and the restaurant and I am glad that our guests are enoying them. Should you visit the downtown area again, we hope that we can welcome you back as a guest at the Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Dayton has recently been remodeled, and they did a great job of it. The rooms are nicely appointed with really comfortable beds. A friend told me he had brought a black light along and used it to check his room for cleanliness. He couldn't believe how clean it was! My wife and I also found the room, as well as the entire hotel, very clean with no unpleasant odors. The staff is very friendly, pleasant and helpful, providing every request with a genuine smile. I have used the fitness rooms in a lot of hotels, and am almost always disappointed. Not this time! They remodeled the fitness room and equipped it with decent dumbbells, a versatile weighted pulley machine, an adjustable bench and 4 working aerobic machines. And they all work! I got the best work-out I've ever had in a hotel. We had planned a large veterans reunion, but unfortunately only about half the expected guests came. The hotel staff didn't bat an eye and continued to take wonderful care of us and provide every need. The complimentary breakfast (I think that was part of our group deal) was excellent, with plenty of variety. All in all, I will use this hotel anytime I visit the Dayton area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golf1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Golf1278,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience. I am glad that you found the updates enjoyable. Our staff has worked very hard to ensure the cleanliness and the quality of the hotel exceed expectations. It was a great pleasure to host your reunion at the hotel. It is an experience unlike any other to be able to host our military reunions. I know our staff appreciates and enjoys the stories that are shared with them. Thank you once again for the kind words, we are looking forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton
Comfort Suites Dayton
#15 of 45 in Dayton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Property: Crowne Plaza Dayton
Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing