We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Space in Oregon District”
Review of Inn Port D'Vino

Inn Port D'Vino
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Port D'Vino
Ranked #1 of 5 Dayton B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Space in Oregon District”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Champagne Suite. Initially, we had a bit of trouble finding 22 Brown Street but everything was great after that. Upon entering, there is the living room with a dining table for 4, pull out sofa and big, flat screen TV. To the left is the master bedroom with a king size bed and doors that close for privacy (if one of you snore the living room is much quieter to sleep). There is a long hallway that leads to the spa room and then the kitchen and bathroom. We entertained people in the afternoon and evening and the place had room to spare. The best part is that it is right in the Oregon District and has very good restaurants and bars with fancy cocktails. I'm from NYC and don't always rave about the area that a hotel or B@B is located but this was really cool. Somewhat like a scaled down Village in NYC. The price is right and the place has a parking lot right in front. Much better than a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Champagne Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter24098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innport, Manager at Inn Port D'Vino, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review. The Champagne Suite is a favorite with the en suite hot tub and the great space for entertaining, as well as the private entrance. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in the Champagne Suite, it was spacious, clean and very romantic. On-site parking was nice, because we could walk to all of the restaurants and shops in the Oregon District. Kitchen is stocked with breakfast items, so you don't have to get up or ready to eat at a certain time.A great stay at a very reasonable price for the size of the suite and the location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelcat216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

I stopped into the Port D'Vino for a single night after seeing it pop up online. I lucked out and they had one room available for the night, the Oporto room. The room layouts and accurate photos are on their website, which also allows you to check availability.

The hostess is warm and accommodating, without being intrusive. The ground floor of the old house contains the common areas which include a nice little public wine bar, a living room area and the breakfast room, which is available to guests around the clock. The furnishings are what I would call traditional Midwestern style and were comfortable and inviting.

The rooms are on the second floor and are accessible via their own staircases. The Oporto suite includes a bedroom with two double beds, desk, and TV. In addition, there is a kitchenette with a dining table, as well as a private bathroom with a shower stall. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. I have allergies and sensitive skin and worry about B&B's, but I had no problems. The bed was nice and soft, the bathroom facilities worked perfectly. The unit had its own thermostat, which was great.

The Port D'Vino is the first house on a side street in the Oregon district, which is an entertainment district in downtown Dayton with several decent restaurants, bars, and shops. It is a great location if you want to go have a few drinks and not worry about transportation, or even crossing a busy street.

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rmh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The suite in the back is where my wife and I stayed. The furnishings were nice, but the layout of the suite was a little awkward. The entrance off the parking lot has some awkward steps. Once inside, there is a room with a TV and a couch and a dining table. Yeah, you dine here, but the kitchenette is waaaaay to the back of the suite past the bedroom and the spa room down a narrow loooong hallway.

The refrigerator and cupboards and basket on the counter offer a good amount of breakfast options, but plan ahead, or you will get your excercise going back and forth to get items.

The bedroom is nice with a double door opening to the front room. The bed is comfy.

The spa room seems a little like an afterthought. The spa itself is one of those kind that you don't drain the water out of, so we were leery of what kinds of fluids lurked in there, so we didn't use this room at all. Also the spa left a musty, chlorine smell to the suite.

The bathroom is around the corner through the kitchenette in the back, so from the front room to the bathroom, it's a long hike.

We really liked the owner, who went out of her way to meet guest's schedules, and was very polite. After checking in, we didn't see her again.

We'd reccommend this place, but wonder if the suites in the main house are arranged better.

Room Tip: Ask the management for suite descriptions that might fit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

- The owner is incredibly nice and flexible. My arrival time was not a problem, and she made sure to meet all requests.

- Everything was clean, comfortable, and well kept. The hot tub in my suite was lovely, and food was supplied in the refrigerator for breakfast. Shampoo, soap, etc. were also included.

- The place was quiet and relaxing.

- Being in the art district, it was walking distance from all sorts of shops and restaurants (I didn't go to any since I was in town on business). Thai 9 is almost right across the street however, and I had an excellent dinner there.

- I normally HATE bed and breakfast places, because it's so easy to have a bad experience. However, I would gladly stay here again - I loved it!

- The decorations are a little mismatched at times, and frankly could be better, but it still looks quite lovely.

- It is a little pricey for what you are getting, but if you can afford it, it's definitely worth being in the art district as opposed to staying in the Holiday Inn by the airport (or something).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingshimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I travel to Dayton a couple times a year for group events, and when the events are downtown or in the Oregon District I'd been staying at the Crowne Plaza. However, the recent slew of downhill reviews for the Crowne led me to seek out a different place to stay, at least until they finish their renovations. The ideal location would be (a) very short walking distance to the Oregon District, (b) have free parking included, (c) cost about as much as the Crowne Plaza or less and (d) pretty and historic is also a plus given how many lovely old properties there are in this neighborhood. Voila, enter the Inn Port D'Vino!

The main house is gorgeous, although I actually stayed in the renovated building in back (which was basically a large, nicely furnished one-bedroom apartment) which allowed me access to the free lot parking. The hostess was very welcoming and her little white dog is so cute! I liked that all of the breakfast things, etc. were in the room and the hostess pretty much stayed out of my hair all weekend after showing me around, in contrast to other places that pester you about wanting to make up the room or whatever. I had a very hectic schedule and appreciated the peace and quiet. The owners were also very willing to work with me so that I could have a parking space, which I needed (street parking in the Oregon District being a real PITA), and still pay a single rate for the room and be in the property closer to the main street of the District. I was able to walk to things around the District even more easily than when I stayed at the Crowne Plaza because I didn't have to negotiate those two extra blocks with the dodgy fast food places and parking garage (and there was snowy slush on the ground besides). The suite I was in came with a full kitchen, cooking utensils, a basket of snacks like crackers and popcorn, and for breakfast, bagels, toast, spreads, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, milk, juice, coffee makings, and one egg. It wasn't fancy but given that it's very hard to get food in the District during certain hours when the restaurants aren't operating, and that a hotel would charge you ten bucks for a plate of toast, I was very glad to have it! The large refrigerator also allowed me to stash takeout food containers and if I was staying longer I could have bought my own food and cooked it. You do have to do your own dishes, which wasn't horribly burdensome but just something to be aware of. Wi-Fi and TV worked great and there was a jacuzzi tub which i didn't have time to try out but good to know it's there for a return visit.

The only minus was that the rooms were kind of cold. I happened to visit during an abnormally cold snap and the building where my rooms were has many large windows down both sides, also the bed blankets and comforter were on the thin side. I realize this is probably not a big problem in months other than Jan.-Feb. and is something that happens in a lot of older building B&B's. Also there is a thermostat control in the hall, but because of the large size of the suite in which I stayed I'm not sure how much that helped. This was a minor point though, and given the great location and amenities of this place I'd definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My hubby and I (boyfriend at the time) stayed here 2 different times when he was home for a visit (he's in the airforce and stationed elsewhere). Both times we stayed in the Champagne Suite and loved it. No complaints here. Loved the kitchen, selection of food, the hot tub was wonderful and beautifully decorated. Now we are married, (and he's currently deployed to the desert) but when he comes back for a visit in December, we are hoping to stay in the same suite again. You've given us wonderful memories to share. (the date of our stays was before Nov. of '09 but wouldn't let me choose dates before then)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dietzgirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#15 of 45 in Dayton
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton
Comfort Suites Dayton
#17 of 45 in Dayton
144 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Port D'Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Port D'Vino

Property: Inn Port D'Vino
Address: 22 Brown St, Dayton, OH 45402-2827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn Port D'Vino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1876 historic home converted to guesthouse accommodations. All units with private bath. +Walking distance to dozens of restaurants, shops, and galleries in the Oregon District. +3 blocks from the Dayton Convention Center. +Less than 1/2 mile from Downtown Dayton and 5/3 Field. +Less than 2 miles from the University of Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Inn Port D'Vino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Port D'Vino Dayton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing