We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and comfortable for my purposes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Dayton/Beavercreek, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable for my purposes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Basically my friend and I just needed a place to hang out for a few hours and this fit the bill perfectly. The room was small and stuffy at first but the a/c worked fairly quickly. Our room was on the second floor facing away from the highway and there was no outside noise that I heard. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were flat and that wasn't too comfortable but since I wasn't staying all night I didn't care much about that.

I was amused by the shower, most places have bathtubs with shower curtains but this was just some weird, circular shower stall that I'd never seen before. The card on the TV listed a bunch of channels but they didn't coordinate with what was actually showing and most of the channels were just static but again, it was a few hours and I wasn't there to watch TV.

In the parking lot after dark, there were some weird people hanging around. I didn't know if they were hotel guests or just usual Vandalia ne'er do wells, but I didn't feel afraid going to my car. However, I would make sure you LOCK your car at this place, or any of the hotels on Miller Lane.

There are literally about fifteen places to eat within a five minute drive, and most of them within a five or ten minute walk. The Asian Buffet across the street and down a little is excellent, it's not been open very long and has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laborcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    6
    6
    13
See reviews for
3
4
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

This Motel 6 is clean and easy to find, plus as another post said there are lots of restaurants and a Wal-Mart nearby. I was a little hesitant about some of the people hanging around but I did see employees walking around and keeping an eye on things, plus they verified that the pool was closed at the appointed time so those of us with rooms nearby weren't kept up all night.

The corner shower appeared to be new and nice, but it was very small - I'm not a big person, but I felt cramped and bumped my elbows a couple of times.

Overall not a bad budget choice.

  • Liked — The variety of restaurants nearby - Cracker Barrel across the street
  • Disliked — The people hanging around on Saturday night
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dog Show Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

Average Motel 6. The parking lot was able to handle our 24 foot trailer which was good, but then again it was a slow night for them. The property was aged, but still meets what I consider the average Motel 6. There are just a ton of businesses nearby including around 10 places to eat and a Walmart. It was along the freeway so make sure you get a room on the non-freeway side of the building.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank PoliticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

I stayed at this sorry excuse for a Motel in July during the summer, What a bummer there isn't a tub, the towels are small, and worst of all the walls are paper thin. I heard the people baby crying incessantly needlessly at 5'30 am. I guess I got what I paid for nothing.... My advise is try somewhere else, it has a very bad location directly on a busy street but you can get a room in back off the busy street near the highway without a view.. Good luck..

  • Liked — It was cheap
  • Disliked — Noisy terrible location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rappdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Husband, dog and I stayed here on our way to Indiana. Room was on the first floor, and was pretty small & basic, but very clean. Since the hotel is not right on the Interstate, it was quiet for sleeping as well. Has a pool which kids seemed to be enjoying, and plenty of room next door, and down the way to walk the dog. Also, very handy to a Sam's Club, Wal-mart and any sort of restaurant one might want.
For $42 for the night, we found it to be a great deal.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — small size of room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffySouthernOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

This place was absolutely disgusting. I know this is a budget hotel, but there are limits on what I am willing to accept.

At check-in the person behind the counter did not even speak a word to me, not even "Hello". I handed my credit card over and she pulled my reservation and handed me my key -- unfriendly but efficient I guess.

Took the elevator to go to my room. When the elevator door opened I thought it was an elevator to Hell. It smelled like puke, the rubber tiles on the floor were all ripped up, and the inside was covered with grafiti.

The room itself was not the cleanest. The carpets were stained and in dire need of a steam clean. The walls too had a lot of stains splattered on them -- no excuse to be this way, they were made of plastic and could easily be cleaned.

The bed spread was dirty, and the sheets were a strange grey colour when it was obvious that they were white at one time. The wife insisted we go to the Wal-Mart across the road and get some Lysol to spray the bed before we slept in it.

Only good thing about this location is its proximity to a lot of decent restaurants. Lots of good hotels/motels in this complex too. This road traveller recomends staying at any of them except Motel 6.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 5a25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2006

Motel 6 advertises a clean economical place to stay and this motel fills the bill perfectly. The motel was close to I-75 and I-70. Even though it was fairly close to the Interstate, the room was quiet. The bed, if not plush, was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. There are no frills at Motel 6. You get a small bar of soap, which lathers up nicely I might add, but no shampoo, lotion, etc. The towels are thin and there is a shower, no tub. All very efficient but quite clean. If all you need is a cheap place to sleep, you can't beat this.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 45 in Dayton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dayton North
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dayton - North
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7130 Miller Ln, I-75 at Exit 60, Dayton, OH 45414 (Formerly Motel 6)
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Dayton, conveniently located off of US-40. Dayton, Ohio is the birthplace of aviation and is known for its high concentration of aerospace and aviation technology. Our hotel is close to the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Air Force Institute-Technology, Air Force Museum Foundation, and National Museum of the United States Air Force. The University of Dayton, Wright State University, and Kettering College-Medical Arts are all nearby. The Schuster Performing Arts Center, Dayton Convention Center, and Dayton International Peace Museum are also close to our hotel. Dayton is also home to the Miami Valley Hospital which earns top national ranking and recognition. O'Charley's, Cracker Barrel, and Sake are a few of the restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Dayton
Motel 6 Dayton
Motel Six Dayton
Dayton Motel 6
Dayton Motel Six
Americas Best Value Inn Dayton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing