We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Dayton Englewood
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Illinois
Level Contributor
402 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We decided to spend the night in Dayton after visiting the Air Force museum. We saw the $40.00 sign and decided to sleep cheap tonight. Big mistake. I should of checked out the room first but didn't. Another big mistake. The bed was about a foot from the floor, no box spring. One thin cheap sheet, no other blanket besides the scary comforter.Terrible pillows. The room was suppose to be non smoking but had a bad funky smell. The microwave was missing a leg and looked like it's never been cleaned. One towel....for two people. The worst part was the seedy characters lurking about. One gang banger we watched kept going to different cars and back into his room and back and forth. I'm sure making drug deals. The was the first time in all my years of travels I actually thought about taking the loss and leaving. Sadly I didn't.
The only decent things about the place were the man at the front desk was pleasnt and the air conditioner in the room worked well. Nothing else.
You learn as you go and I learned that day to never pay for a room until you get to see it and that you get what you pay for. Do yourself a favor and stay somwhere other then here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    17
    9
    16
See reviews for
8
11
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

For 40 bucks, this place exceeded expectations. Stayed in a king room. Very spacious work desk and comfortable bed. It was clean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
287 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

This hotel is s former property of the now defunct Cross Country Inn chain. The property has been updated and I found it to be clean, pleasantly furnished and fairly nice in general. One nice amenity that carried over from the prior chain's days is the swimming pool which is rarely found in a Red Rood property. All in all, the location provided a good value for the price ($58 weekend rate for two queen beds). The chain does accept pets, but this property seems to deal with that by trying to place people with pets in certain rooms. This means that those rooms are going to have some smell, but if you normally travel with your pet, as I do, the convenience of being able to bring along your cat or dog mitigates this. The breakfast is basic, but I appreciated it being offered. Not a luxury property by any stretch, but a decent stay at a decent price. I would return.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank motorcity70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

I had a last minute change in travel that necessitated a stop along I-70, and Dayton seemed like the best location. I got a good rate on a business king, and the free wireless internet sealed my decision to make a reservation. I called to see if they had in-room hairdryers, and they told me no. When I arrived, at midnight, the parking lot was empty to the point that it made me a bit nervous. But the room was OK: It looked as if it had new countertops, furnishings, and carpet, and it was clean. And it even had a hairdryer, along with a mini-fridge and microwave. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the freeway (didn't bother me), but otherwise quiet. So if you're on a road trip and arrive late and just want a cheap place to sleep, shower ,check e-mail, and hit the road ASAP in the morning, this hotel is fine (at least the Business King). But if I were to spend more time there, I probably would have looked elsewhere.

  • Liked — free wireless, good shower, convenient to I-70
  • Disliked — looked old in parts, was told no hairdryer in room, when in fact there was.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 319expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2006

Was in Dayton for family reunion and this was the only place available. The room smelled terrible and it was very stuffy. There was also trash on the landings. I would not recommend this place to anyone. This was a very experience for my family

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

this is the place for you!

Looked OK and was only place available (should have known why!) and was only there one night. In the morning, awoke to critters on floor of room. Woke wife, didn't say anything, was NOT about to eat at "breakfast bar" (which looked to be a joke anyhow) and checked out. Upon leaving, waited for room to be clear, so could tell deskclerk about the roach problem without other guests present (BIG mistake!) and clerk kind of rolled eyes and said nothing.

When I returned from the trip, sent email to RRI license company and got a standard email noting that reply should be received within 15 days. You got it, no reply, and bet they never do send one.

Apparently, this chain is now competing for "worst and most filthy hotels in America" award (after checking out the comments on here about their chain, looks like a shut-out victory for them!)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tateriffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel6dayton, Manager at Motel 6 Dayton Englewood, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
I am a new GM for this Motel 6. I have began responding to guest reviews just now. That's the reason for late delay. i didn't know I can reply back on Tripadvisor. We have always used local pest control services. There aren't any reported issues. However, I do apologize for the issue. I believe we don't have any Roaches problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
4.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Airport
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton Northwest
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
4.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dayton - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Dayton Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Dayton Englewood

Property: Motel 6 Dayton Englewood
Address: 9325 N. Main St, I-70 Dayton-Englewood Exit #29, Dayton, OH 45415
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Dayton Englewood 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Dayton Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Dayton
Dayton Red Roof Inn
Motel 6 Dayton Englewood Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing