We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently yummy, value-friendly home cooking.”

Ranked #252 of 753 Restaurants in Dayton
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently yummy, value-friendly home cooking.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My family loves Cracker Barrel. Everyone always finds something they like. And the fact you can always get breakfast makes the kids happy. The daily specials are great, too. A couple favorites are chicken and dumplings, catfish, Sunday fried chicken and the pot roast dinner. They also have a large selection of delicious sides. And to finish our meal, the double chocolate fudge Coca Cola cake is awesome. The moistest chocolate cake ever!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennrn915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food here always good!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Food was delicious! The service from our waitress was excellent, however after our waitress walked away I dropped my silverware. I asked another waitress to bring me more silverware. She never came back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not quite up to Cracker Barrel par!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

No place is always perfect, and that's true of this store. We stopped by for "brunch" going through Dayton. The food was average, and there seemed to be alot of plate showing between the entrees. (Smallish portions) I had to ask for a second serving of sawmill gravy, as one serving was not enough for both biscuits, and there were no jam or jelly packets at the table to use, so it was either eat it dry, or ask for more gravy. It was after eating most of the bowl that the courteous, though "Stepford Wife-like" waitress had brought to the table, when I discovered a hair stuck to the side of the bowl, rising up from the gravy. Not wanting to hassle with another robotic "I'm sorry, sir!", (as there had already been a couple of minor hiccups in the service) and another bowl of gravy, I said nothing about it until I went to the cash register. I will say, that the cashier promptly reported my complaint to the kitchen, but there was no compensation offered, and by then, I just wanted to leave. Overall, not a very pleasing experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusterB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistant”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What I like is that no matter which one you walk into, the one down the block or across the country, the menu is always the same. I know the service will be great and friendly and the food will be just like MY Mom made it this morning.Sometimes I am in one and forget that I am not at the one right down the street from home and I still have 5 hours to drive home today. As I have asthma I am not always excited when the fireplace is burning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Below Standard”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The food was ok - didn't feel it met most of the standards of most Cracker Barrell's. Two people at our table ordered the same meal - the amount of food on each plate was visably different. One had very small portions - while the other was much larger. Service seemed slow for the place not to be very crowded. Restroom was very dirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OHIOBuckeye58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel Country Store & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel Country Store & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing