We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Museum of the US Air Force
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
The best things in life are free

The US Air Force museum has quite a number of planes you cannot see anywhere else … most notably... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Hermes_NL
,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
via mobile
Don't miss it!

Exceeded my very high expectations. An absolutely amazing experience that I will not... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lu71t
,
Israel
Read all 5,117 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (5,117)
Filter reviews
5,117 results
Traveller rating
4,745
335
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,745
335
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential planes cold war space shuttle aviation history early flight on display the wright brothers stealth bomber korean war memphis belle dayton area huge hangers space exploration early years world war experimental aircraft wear comfortable shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 5,117 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2022

The Air Force museum at Wright-Patterson AFB is one of the finest museums we've ever visited. It is clearly on par with the Smithsonian Air and Space in DC and it's Udvar-Hazy facility out at Dulles airport. I could make countless comparisons: W-P has a mock-up of the original Wright flyer whereas Air and Space as the original restored flyer; W-P has the real Memphis Belle whereas U-H as the real Enola Gay; U-H has a real SR-71 whereas W-P as two; W-P has a full-scale mock-up of the Space Shuttle whereas U-H has a real one; U-H has the original prototype Boeing 707 where as W-P has four former Air Force Ones including Kennedy's 707; U-H has a real Concorde whereas W-P has the only surviving XB-70. I could go on and on. Each museum is remarkable in its own right and all the aircraft are displayed indoors. We love both museums and can't say that one is better than the other. W-P does have one display article that is quite unique that being the original B-2 load-test vehicle. It never flew but is jaw-dropping nonetheless. We've now seen all four of the largest air museums in the US: Air and Space (including Udvar-Hazy), Pima (in Tucson next to the "Boneyard"), Museum of Aviation (Warner Robins, GA) and now Wright-Patterson. If you love aviation, the Air Force Museum at Wright-Patterson is a must see!

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank wmloyd4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2022

What an amazing experience! So much history. All the workers/volunteers were outstanding. We took advantage of the guided tour on space/presidential planes and were blown away with all the exhibits and opportunities to learn about and get up close with the airplanes and spaceships. There's no way to see it all in one day. The special segments highlighting women in flight is long overdue and very well done. Will plan a return trip to enjoy more of this amazing museum and grounds.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2022

My wife and I visited the USAF Museum and were very impressed with all of the pictures and memorabilia of women in the Air Force. Especially their efforts during WWII. Truly a remarkable visit.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank garyure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Visited as part of an Air Force Reunion. What better place than here. Visited the museum the day before the reunion and really enjoyed it bringing back memories of my time in the air force.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank A5920DSscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Ah, NOW I see why the Defense budget is always a bazillion dollars. Soooo many different planes to see. Spans the entire history of planes from the wood and canvas of The Wright Brothers all the way up to the current stealth flying machines and bombs of today. HUGE hangars are filled with planes and uniforms and other articles of military life. Very interesting museum to visit. Especially enjoyed touring Ari Force One !!

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank travellintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews