We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Marriott Courtyard in U.S.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Marriott Courtyard in U.S.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stay in Courtyards all over U.S. and this one is one of the best. The location is superb for business activities in downtown Dayton. I had sparetime to see the awesome Carillon History Park directly across the river. The area was excellent to jog along the river and over the bridge to the university campus. My room was clean, big, and had a nice river view. The bar in the lobby was a nice addition - not all Courtyards have bars like this. The two gals that bartended were knowledgeable and provided excellent service. The young man hosting the breakfast was also excellent. The front desk staff was congenial - however they did mess-up on the bed preference stipulated on my reservation. If you need to stay in Dayton this is the place - easy access, great location, and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of hotel have nice river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    65
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
20
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I enjoyed the stay at the hotel, great room, nice accommodations, except for the internet connectivity i had to disconnect, then reconnect, because it kept freezing up, if they iron out that kink, then they will receive 5 stars in my review.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Loved the service in the elegant dining area. Breakfast wasn't free but barely cost anything. Waiter and waitresses were very nice. All personnel took pride in what the did. Loved the third floor view of the activity along the interstate. Rooms were beautiful. Five pillows per bed, free wireless internet, large flat screen. Also we had a handicapped room for my elderly mom. The waiter at the restaurant treated her with alot of respect. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: My room was $30 less on Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millennm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I am currently staying at the hotel for 5 nights, which I booked via Priceline @ $58/night. At this price, it's a fantastic deal and I would even say it would be worth up to $100/night. However, paying over $100/night for this hotel seems a bit much. Priceline considers this a 3 star hotel and I would concur saying it's a solid 3 star hotel. The hotel is just a few years old and is very well decorated, inside and out. The lobby is beautiful and my room is tastefully decorated with modern decor. My room has a 32" flat screen and a sofa, in addition to the king bed. In addition to wi-fi, there is wired ethernet in each room, which I really like. Internet is free too. Bathroom is fine and functional - nice but nothing special. It has a granite countertop, but then a really cheap faucet which forces my hands to hit the back part of the sink when I wash them. A minor thing, but there are a few things like this that prevent this from going up to a 3.5 star hotel in my mind. Another one is that the toilet flushing is a little weird (have to hold down for several seconds - there's clearly an issue with it and it was not designed this way). Again, not a huge deal though. Location of the hotel is very good, with close proximity to the university. Also some very good eating options within 1-2 miles (Chipotle, Dewey's pizza, Cold Stone, etc). I'm not sure about fine dining since I'm traveling solo at the moment. Seems like a very safe area.

Room Tip: Request to be facing away from the highway, or at least as far away from it as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel was certainly clean enough and consistent with the basic standards of its peers, but the staff were indifferent when it came to customer service. For example, I wanted milk for my coffee instead of non-dairy creamer, but the staff person protested about the difficulties of doing this to the point where I simply withdrew the request. Check-in staff showed the same sort of behavior - the agent multitasked with phone calls from guests and other tasks to the point where we took a different room than ordered simply to get away from the front desk. They knew we were waiting for our king bed room to clear, but never called. The room was nice, but the closet set-up was awkward.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markmor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandmacani
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very welcoming from the moment we entered. Only drawback was only restaurant close was in hotel. Otherwise I am looking forward to returning. I've never seen a room so beautifully decorated. The beds truly comfortable

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed for one night as a business trip. Room was excellent. Wireless kept dropping off, but they had a cord in the room so I just plugged in and it was great. Great view of the campus on one side (I assume the other has the river). Was going to run on the river, but I was just too tired. It looked to be a great place to run (path starts about a quarter mile up at the bridge). It was summer with school out, so the area was pretty empty - except for the ballfield adjacent to the parking lot with a little league game (ended before dark). Food, etc. is a drive.
Note - there is construction on the highway, and backed up going into Dayton (traveling north to the hotel) even at 3PM. Plan ahead, especially if you have a flight out. I flew out in the mroning (7AM) and did not have issues.
Did not do much at the hotel itself, so no review on the gym or pool.
When I checked out at 530AM, no one was at the counter (sign said be back in 10). I didn't want to wait, so just dropped off the room key. The TV checkout was not working either.
Overall great experience, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Plan ahead for meals - no restaurants close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear bstrvl55711,

Thanks for your kind review! We look forward to seeing the road construction completed and hope it won't be an issue on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you then!

Yours truly,

Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.7 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
7.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#15 of 45 in Dayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
7.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton

Property: Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Address: 2006 S Edwin C Moses Blvd, Dayton, OH 45417-4675
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dayton
#10 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Dayton hotel is near the University of Dayton Arena offers all of the comfort you expect from a Marriott hotel. Our updated guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, mini-refrigerators and Free Wireless High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing