We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Toppings”
Review of Dewey's Pizza

Dewey's Pizza
Ranked #9 of 764 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Toppings”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're looking for a pizza to satisfy anyone's taste, this is the place! They go beyond the normal pepperoni pizza with unique toppings. Looking for goat cheese or olive oil instead of red sauce? Maybe smoked cheese and salsa? These are just a few of the pizza topping options you will find here. My dining experience has always been good. The restaurant is clean and the service fast. Deweys in Dayton caters to a college crowd, but is a great restaurant for all ages. There is on street parking, but spaces can be hard to find; however, there are parking lots nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
2,785 reviews
1,784 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,162 helpful votes
“My wife and I take advantage of “order half and half of any pizza.””
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For some time, we have enjoyed take-away from Dewey’s Pizza, and today following lots of yard work I am able to convince my wife to accompany me to “Dewey’s Pizza Parlor.”

Do not park on Jasper or Brown, because there are two large parking lots near Dewey’s Pizza. Street parking is inviting damage to your automobile.

As we enter Dewey’s plaza, my wife spies Cold Stone Creamery, and we both know that it shall be Cold Stone later.

Joe, who is the manager, greets us. Joe has a great public relations future. Seated are one young man and a young family. We arrive near 4:15, and Joe observes that we have perfect timing, because by 5:00 Dewey’s shall be filled.

Joe enjoys his manager position and joins diners in conversation. Turns out that Joe has 30 yards of Mulch to spread, and lives in our former neighborhood. Joe is a Centerville and University of Dayton grad, as is our son. I hold a graduate degree from the University of Dayton.

Perhaps the University of Dayton students and other dining clientele may be on to something in rating Dewey’s as Dayton’s Number one Dayton restaurant. Dewey’s is gourmet pizza, and not fine dining.

Some younger folks use the term “fancy” and "expensive." Let’s translate: We prefer the concept, gourmet; our assessment is the tariff is appropriate for the fare.

Dewey’s Pizza does offer take out; however, the actual restaurant is very attractive. Dewey’s Pizza has a wall of windows and other windows. Dewey’s Pizza tables and booths are very nice. Yes, expect University of Dayton students. We like University of Dayton students. Dewey’s Pizza is very family friendly.

Joe is correct: Young families are flocking to Dewey’s by 4:50PM. It is very neat to observe a family oriented restaurant, and Dewey’s policy of “order half and half of any pizza” solves many family dilemmas.

At about 4:50PM a small army of servers arrives, and all are friendly, and well trained young folks. My wife and I take advantage of “order half and half of any pizza.”
She: Wild Mushroom with Olive Oil, Minced Garlic, Mozzarella-Fontina Blend, Mushrooms, Portobello Mushrooms, Oyster Mushrooms, Shitake Mushrooms, Capers, Roasted Red Peppers. He: Build your own: Canadian bacon, sausage pepperoni, diced fresh tomatoes, mushroom, and hot peppers.

Let’s observe that Dewey’s is not your neighborhood pub, which focuses on beer, and the meal selection is secondary. Dewey’s is primarily a neighborhood pizza parlor with a focus on pizza, calzones, and salad. A secondary focus is on pints (U.S., not imperial) of local draughts.

Together with Joe, we lament Centerville’s decision not to issue a permit for a Centerville Dewey’s; however, Joe is very enthusiastic about an early fall opening of Dewey’s in Austin Landing. We are certain to be diners at the Austin Landing Dewey’s.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite places to visit.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place. I went there on a business lunch and fell in love. Love the pizza but even more than that I love the salads. Think I'mma try to go tomorrow.

Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The crust is the best part”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Visited here with a couple friends. Had a salad and a meatball pizza. The salad was slightly limp and underdressed, so it was just OK. The pizza sauce was pretty bland, but the meatballs were decent and the crust was nice and chewy. Service was prompt and friendly. Not my favorite pizza by a long shot, but much better than what usually passes for pizza in Dayton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Dayton Area”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My UD graduate son introduced me to Dewey's years ago, thus justifying all the money I spent on his UD education! The only pizza that can compete with Dewey's is South Park Tavern which beats Dewey's on Monday's because on that day South Park has half-priced pizza. Try them both and you'll agree they have the best pizza in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dewey's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Dewey's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing