We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than fast food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
San Antonio
Level Contributor
399 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Better than fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Bar inventory was skimpy and my drink was not all that great. Food was OK. Pretty much everything else nearby was fast food so I would go back before I would do fast food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BOY THAT'S A GOOD STEAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have never had a bad experience at Lone Star. Prices are decent but the steaks are out of this world!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, OH
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tough steak and dirty surroundings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

At one time Lone Star had decent steaks. No more. They have gone to a cheap, tough cut. The steaks are dry and lacking in flavor - all steaks as I've tried several. I don't need that. The grill at DLM cooks a better steak at half the price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dvomacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Was in Dayton for a quarterly business meeting, and had been on travel eating fast food the day before - so I went to Lone Star for a meal and a beer. Was seated promptly, server came quickly, and was knowledgeable. I had a great bacon wrapped sirloin done exactly as I asked for it - with a great salad and loaf of bread. Was as good a meal as I've had on the road - and I travel a lot. Two thumbs up.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mahanc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Will visit again once in awhile!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

I was overall happy with the experience at Lone Star. It was both mine and my husbands first time eating here. We liked the dim lighting and casual feeling of the restaurant. The booths are nice since they have higher raised up backs so its more private feeling. The service was good, not over the top great but decent. There were many choices off the menu, good selection. Our wait was a typical wait for what was ordered(ribs & steak) Everything was cooked good. The steak wasn't to impressive, though it was cooked right, there wasn't much flavor. The ribs however was the best of the meal. Also, I love the steak fries and my husband really liked his side of rice. It was a enjoyable experience and we will be back again sometime. The prices were a little pricey so this isn't somewhere we would go often, of course for the type of food, it is expected. Again its a nice place, friendly staff and good food.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank icemodeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing