We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay In Ohio”
Review of The Hotel Dayton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Dayton
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Waupun
2 reviews
“Stay In Ohio”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Room was ok, had a musty smell in it. came in at 2am and left at 8am to get back on the road again. people were friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    77
    85
    95
See reviews for
119
42
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not worth even half of what we were charged. Our first room had vomit all over the bedskirt and mattress, it was evident it was not cleaned. The second room that we were given had someone's dirty clothes in between the mattress and had what looked like fecal matter in the sink and mold throughout. The third room we finally agreed upon had no air conditioning and was filthy as well. We could not sleep under the covers due to our previous room experiences. We did not receive housekeeping services on the second day and they ran out of clean towels as well. Dirty, moldy, poor service, outdated, unfriendly and an absolute mess. I would not recommend this property to
anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyersCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were booked here for a soccer tournament and will never stay here again! Our entire room was dirty, including the bathroom. The noise level the entire night was ridiculous and was not fixed even after multiple calls to the front desk. Apparently the tower has nicer rooms, but the rooms in the main section are terrible. The area around the hotel is very sketchy, too. We were way overcharged for the quality we received. While the staff was apologetic as we checked out early, they also said they didn't blame us for leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is in a bad area, therefore they have issues with druggies at the hotel as told to us by an employee! They only have one hallway of updated rooms, the rest are disgusting. I refused one of the older rooms. (Also, I booked a handicap suite and it was not available upon arrival.) Then the bathroom sink and tub backed up in the new room. Manager is not a very nice man, and thinks he owns the place. The rest of the staff was courteous enough, and the maintenance crew were very polite and quick to respond to the many issues we had. But the entire room wreaked of foulness after they worked on the plumbing and the sink still backed up. So we had to be moved again! The game room was not up and running, the pool and hot tub would be nice if clean. The walls had gross film above the water line, and I saw one of the maids after we complained scrubbing them with a brush, letting the filth go into the hot tub water instead of draining it to be cleaned properly and then they were letting people get in it.The pool area is nice though, big open area. The breakfast was terrible and little of nothing and over by 9 am. We rushed to get down there to find some kind of sloppy potatoes and tiny cereal boxes and bread and hard as rocks mini muffins. I choose this hotel for the restaurant and it was basically not open! They had nice menu's in all the rooms, but were not open most of the time (not at all on Monday and only after 5 pm other days) and when it was open they were only serving appetizers. The entire place needs painted inside and out.They are supposed to be changing hands according to the staff. Anything would be better! The manager did finally after an argument offer me a discount, this was definitely not a hundred dollar a night hotel~!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Deedee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_ramada, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Dayton, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Read your feedback. The original reservation was not for a handicap suite reservation but for a regular non smoking suite reservation. We did receive a phone call from you to change it to a handicap suite if available. The handicap suite was not available as it was already occupied by another guest for last few days and guest was still a stay-over at the time of your check in. A day later you asked me if I could offer you a free night stay as you had inconvenience. I gave you a good discount and you were satisfied with that and said that was fair enough. However I again apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
3.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton
Comfort Suites Dayton
#17 of 45 in Dayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dayton North
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Dayton

Property: The Hotel Dayton
Address: 2301 Wagner Ford Rd, Dayton, OH 45414-5006 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Dayton)
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton
Dayton Holiday Inn
The Hotel Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing