We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay. Our 3rd time here. Beds were a little...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    193
    137
    125
    101
See reviews for
294
149
79
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Six family members stayed in three rooms for two nights. Staff responded promptly to strong cigarette smoke odor in non-smoking room assigned at check-in and unidentified bug in bed linens by moving us, in both cases, to different rooms. Staff also responded promptly to request to clean large area (approximately 10 inch square) of oily residue on table, also offering 3 free sodas, and to supply missing ironing board. Examples of poor maintenance: no phone service throughout stay; no housekeeping service on weekends; multiple instances of peeling paint; missing bathroom plug, missing privacy curtain on one side of a window. Additional examples of lack of cleanliness: bloodstain on duvet cover; small amount of food debris in refrigerator; dirty glass in cupboard, tacky (that is, sticky-feeling) carpeting throughout.
Very convenient to airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teleyergnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed that _the room was dirty and smelled of smoke. Please accept my apology. To prevent this from happening again, my team has been detailing the rooms. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location, however the rooms are really outdated, carpets are dirty, furniture is old and I didn't have a overall good feel of cleanliness. I needed a extra blanket and I was told to turn the air off, we don't have any extra blankets and that I can walk to get a sheet. I would not recommend this place to anyone especially if you are traveling with small children.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatronPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pros: Nice breakfast buffet, good variety and breakfast area was clean. The kitchenette and bath area in our room was clean, and what I'd expect from a 2.5 rating. However...!

Cons: This is supposed to be a non-smoking facility but our room smelled musty and like old cigarette smoke. We are non-smokers, so that was a huge turn off! The window couldn't be opened and the sliding patio door had no screen so pulling in fresh air was a problem. We asked for another room since we wanted 2 beds (and clean air) and were told that's not an option since we used Priceline's Express Deals to book this. The carpet was torn, the mattress has seen better days, and the bedding for the pull-out sofa was stained and had holes. Thankfully I had purchased a sheet set earlier in our travels so we put that on the pull-out sofa bed for our children to use, and that made it feel clean for them. The towels were nice enough, but when I asked for 2 extra towels and washcloths I was handed the towels and told there were no washcloths available so we had 2 washcloths for the 4 of us. We were really disappointed in the quality for the star rating of 2.5. If there would be nice bedding for the pull-out, AND the room would smell fresh and clean, we could have overlooked the rest of it. But we won't be staying here again. Also be advised this place is across the highway from all the restaurants, and you have to take a little detour down a side access road to get across the highway. The outdoor pool is only open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m, so get your evening swim in early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeadowlarkMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly.I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I admit, I was skeptical when I saw the budget price listed for this hotel. We were planning a trip that required a night's stay on the road to our vacation destination and didn't want to stay at a pricy hotel and shell out big bucks before we even arrived to our destination. We were just hoping for a clean room for a good night's sleep. We weren't disappointed! This is an older hotel, 8 buildings with outside entrances for each studio-style room. The carpet is a bit worn and walls could use a fresh coat of paint, but cleanliness and service were top-notch. Staff was very attentive and went out of their way to make our brief stay very comfortable. The breakfast bar was great, also. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Great value that suited our needs just fine!

Room Tip: The buildings are numbered and it was hard to see the numbering in the dark when we arrived. The lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy2716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay and that you were able to take the time to enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I have shared your kind words with my team and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
14.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Address: 7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Dayton North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing