We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our so called non smoking suite, had a horrific smell, was dirty and consisted of one king bed and a pull out couch that actually folded up when our young daughter got into bed. We paid over $ 220 night for the worst hotel experience in 25 years. I've never written a review before or a hotel head office but I feel compelled to. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Chris, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. After reviewing your stay, I see that you were in a King Kitchen Suite that consists of a full kitchen, king bed, and a pullout couch. After I was informed of the issue with the pullout couch, I personally checked it out and came to the conclusion that the bed may not have been pulled out completely or properly. We have never had an issue with the pullout bed closing in and have not had an issue with it since. Our property is a 100% non-smoking hotel with a strict non-smoking policy. We are perplexed about the smell and the cleanliness in your room as our rooms are checked daily to ensure high standards. The rate was a high season peak date with the entire area being sold out; however, our rates were still kept considerably lower than our competitors in the area. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Sears
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    114
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
127
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere central to a number of spring training sites and Bradenton fit the bill. This hotel tucked in away from a main road seemed to be a good fit. We were quite happy with it. The location was handy for everywhere we wanted to travel for different games and also an easy drive to the Bradenton Beach area. The staff was helpful and courteous especially manager Chris Sears. We were given excellent dinner recommendations. Room was very clean. Pool was nice. Ample free parking. Breakfast was okay. Would have liked more fresh fruit, but didn't ask for it while there, so really can't complain. But there were other choices and it worked out fine for us. It was great having tea bags and hot water available 24/7(coffee and juice also). Bed was comfy. Rooms were quiet. Would stay there again if we are able to come to Bradenton again for baseball.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel ... once you find it tucked away behind the Cracker Barrel ... is very nice, quiet, and efficiently run. Breakfast area is small and so when hotel is busy, seating is difficult and foods run out quickly. Staff endeavours to keep up, but it is a losing battle. Front desk staff are courteous and helpful. We chose not to have cleaning staff enter our room, but were disappointed that they took the "Do Not Disturb" sign to mean don't even ask if there are any needs or desires, even if you see the guests in the hallway outside the room. For a hotel in this price range, that is poor service. Fresh baked cookies were a nice touch at night. Feeding a squirrel in the entrance way just beyond the kitchen was not. We would consider staying here again, but another BW just down the road has lower weekday rates and was equal to this one when we stayed there, so we might return there instead next time. Either way, BW seems the best hotel chain in the area, at least to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel purely because of other reviews and most especially because it was a non smoking hotel.Our room smelt of smoke and obviously noted by staff prior to our arrival because an air purifying machine had been left on the desk. We spoke to reception who were unable to move us as the hotel was full. They did offer to move us for our second night which was a bit inconvenient.We asked for a discount which was begrudgingly given and the staff did not have a very helpful attitude regarding our stay. Breakfast was only OK and is eaten in the lobby area. Worst Best Western we have stayed in. We shall think twice about using this hotel chain again, next few nights we stayed at a Sleep Inn, much nicer!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Close to Festival. Clean, convenient, behind Cracker Barrel and plenty of places to walk to eat. Very nice heated pool. Breakfast was great. Plenty of towels and the beds were comfortable. Good refrig.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was a very nice hotel, a little hidden behind the Cracker Barrel Restaurant. It is on a busy street, but you wouldn't know it, because it is back from the main road. Very quiet. The rooms are clean, and they put on a nice breakfast. The breakfast included hot and cold items. Waffles, oatmeal, cereal, doughnuts, juice, coffee, tea.
We did not use any amenities of the hotel. Just enjoyed the nice clean rooms, and slept well in the quiet. Would recommend...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Requests included a handicap equipped room and a chair with an ottoman, which I had seen pictured. We arrived around 8 pm, and drove right by as the facility is hidden behind a Cracker Barrel, and the signage is small.
Got to room and discovered no chair with ottoman. Their idea of handicapped equipped is placing a chair in the bathroom.
We waited to unpack, hoping they'd move us to a room with a chair and ottoman. Instead, the front desk help brought a chair to us. The room is much too crowded to squeeze the chair in. We flex and place the chair between the beds during our waking hours. Less than best or even plus.
Never used housekeeping, but based on big stain on carpet, we think not much attention is given to detailed cleaning.
No view of anything except back of restaurant. Will find another hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Chris, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Day Tight Fit,
After reviewing your response to your stay with us I discovered that you did not request a handi-cap room, you put in a request for a first floor room only, (it may have been the only room type there was due to the hotel being full and you chose to book it.) this is what you were given due to the request, had you booked a handi-cap room you would have been given one with a completely different set-up. By looking at the reservation, At the time you were staying with us we were sold out and we did honor your request, The stain on the floor was made from the guest that had just checked out and I had told your husband about the stain and let him know and he did not have a problem with it at the time??? The room was placed on the Carpet cleaning schedule for the following deep clean day when the room was to be vacant. Our pet rooms are all located on the first floor and the carpets are steam cleaned every week to ensure that they are kept at the highest level of cleanliness that I keep for the hotel.
I am sorry that you had this happen and hope you find your next hotel to be as nice as your own home as I am sure nothing has ever been spilled on the carpet..
Thank you for comments and as always I ask all my guest to please let us know when they run into an issue to contact the front desk so that it can be corrected right away thus making your stay the best it can be and saving us both the time of having to write a story on the internet.
Thank you, Chris Sears- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bradenton Downtown Historic District
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradenton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bradenton at I-75
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Bradenton Sarasota/Riverfront
7.6 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel
Address: 2215 Cortez Rd W, Cortez & Highway 41, Bradenton, FL 34207-1245 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bradenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bradenton
#2 Family Hotel in Bradenton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bradenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and upscale hotel is offering a major step up in style and one of the best hotels that Bradenton and Sarasota have to offer. We are located less than three miles from the beautiful Gulf beaches, and just minutes from Long Boat Key and Anna Maria Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradenton Gateway Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing