We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campsites”

Lake Manatee State Park
Ranked #22 of 74 things to do in Bradenton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Campsites”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just finished a weekend camping trip here. There is not much to do at the park unless you have a boat or canoe/kayak to enjoy the lake in. However, for a short camping trip it is great just for a nature get-away! The campsites are really nice and large with a lot of vegetation in between for privacy. The bathrooms were also nice and well kept. You can hear the dragsters because there is a speedway close by but we didn't find that annoying and it didn't go on late at night. Overall, we had a really nice time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    17
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Camping at LMSP”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good space between campsites. Nice to have a swimming spot on site. Ants at the site were somewhat annoying. Nice clean rest room facilities, and pretty convenient to grocery store. Don't take the canoes to the dam... it is considered trespassing if you go past the bouys near the dam.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DON'T INVEST A WHOLE DAY HERE:”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have visited this park many times for picnics, walks, and even camped here one weekend. It is not a place that requires much time. The trails are very limited and short. Other than fishing on the lake (from a boat), there is very little to do here. Last time we went, there were bacteria warnings near the lake.

It's pretty here, to be sure...and a good place to stop for a picnic if you are going to be nearby...but unless you are fishing or kayaking, etc. don't plan on spending more than an hour or so here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“scenic park”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spaces are far enough apart to ensure your privacy. Park was very clean and well kept. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. We stayed 3 days from Sunday to Wednesday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Northbjterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good for Family with Children”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We've been there several times over the years with children, riding our bikes, taking hikes, using the playground, picnics. It's what you expect in a state park, but the lake makes it more interesting. We haven't been there as much lately, but worth a visit if you are in the area. There are camping facilities which seem to be find, although we have never used them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Manatee State Park also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lake Manatee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing