We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT and not much to do”

Lake Manatee State Park
Ranked #20 of 77 things to do in Bradenton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“HOT and not much to do”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The kids were scared to death to swim as they were afraid of being eaten by alligators. It was a hot - hot day. Like 99 degrees. It was too hot to hike - there was a bit of shade - but not enough to keep the kids happy or busy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyNudistCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    18
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Alligators, wild boars, and tree top canopy walks”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This bit of wild FL is easily accessible from Sarasota and Bradenton. If you take the boat tour, you are very likely to see 20 to 50 gators. The land tour gives you a view of FL cattle country in the early 1900s. You don't have to take a tour though to enjoy the park. The foot paths allow delightful hiking on level ground and well prepared paths. Don't skip the interesting and educational museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little noisy on are visit”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Nice sites, water, electric with dump station not far. Friendly staff. Small lake walking distance but I wouldn't swim there. Clean bathroom. Noise from highway, gun range and local racetrack but not all the time. Spring break brought local family's with tons of kids and bikes. I would guess 13 or 14 young kids on the 3 a joining sites so no listening to the birds and wind for us. Needed to ask parents to have children move bikes from roadway and that's another story. Decent place but would pick little manatee river state park over this one mostly because of noise.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It was cool”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great park camp there for a week there where really cool trails and loved the campsite set up the only problem was it said on website swimin put when you got there there was a sign that says harmful bacteria

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Isaiah12345687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Too much noise”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It is a nice enough park and campground, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Vegetation between the sites provides enough privacy to feel comfortable. The trails are nothing special just easy walk around the park. I think you can rent canoes and there are some other activities to do but we did not bother to find out. After one night we packed and left. The reason for that was the ever present noise from car race track nearby! We were warned about it upon check in and the ranger did not exaggerate. The announcer and raving car engines can be heard all day and well into the night and it wasn’t just some distant faint noise. I woke up at 12:30a and it was still going on. Whoever permitted those two places be in immediate neighborhood should have their own house right there as well to realize how senseless decision this was. The car race track is a single but huge reason why I rated this place poorly. Otherwise I liked it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AAS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Manatee State Park also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lake Manatee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing