We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EXPECT LUXURY!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Desoto Dollar Movies
Ranked #17 of 18 Fun & Games in Bradenton
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT EXPECT LUXURY!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

You're paying $1 - $2 to see a show. Obviously it's not going to be the same as the $18 AMC down the street. That being said, when I go it's clean and the staff are friendly. I have no issue with this place. It would be great for toddlers or young children during the day since it's not too busy. However, number 6 has a sound issue which makes any music go "wah-wah-wah", if that makes sense. Otherwise this place is fine if you aren't too snooty for it. The mall doesn't have a lot of big stores but I personally like it that way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EmBea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    8
    7
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great movies. Some that are fairly new.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The place is old and not the cleanest. I would not eat off the seats but is that what you go there for?
The movies are good. Tuesday is senior day ! You get into the movies for $1 a small pop for $1 and a small popcorn for $1. You really can't beat it for an afternoon out. The movie starts at 4:30. We haven't had to wait very long when we went.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank out4funandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Need some updating”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This theater needs some updating but for the price you can't really complain. For a dollar movie they have some very recent and good movies. Most of the time there is not a wait which is a good thing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Char W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I live in Bradenton, and I love my town and movies at Desoto”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

You get what in pay for in life, and that is the movies as well. What the heck do you expect plush seating, perfect screen, and sound, and clean floor. Heck you cannot even get a candy bar for 50cents and that is what they charge on Tues. The people that go there are not anything else but people. The price is affordable for people on a fixed income, whether its Medicare, or low paying jobs. Everyone out there cannot afford 10.00 a whack, yet they love movies. So, to most its the way to go. A enjoyable time, and sharing with friends or a escape for a few hours. I don't know why there is so much negative things to say about my town, and its community. We are a proud group, and I never saw drug, crack head, or women on a bootie call, sorry any place has their share of crime even the plush places. Please if you find so much wrong with the Dollar Show well, don't go there, but don't tell anyone else to stay away from my mall. Let everyone find out for themselves, and draw there own conclusions

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old and Dirty”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Sure the movie is cheap but I would never want to be at this mall after dark. Just don't. There is another cheap movie theater off of University...find that one and go there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CateyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desoto Dollar Movies also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Desoto Dollar Movies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing