We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

O'Brien Family Farms
Ranked #22 of 77 things to do in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Parrish, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great place to pick blueberry's and get fresh produce. Very friendly stff

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, fl
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I took my 10 year old daughter and her friend because they wanted to pick their own strawberries. We ALL had the most fun day. Not only strawberries but all types of greens, beautiful cauliflower, cabbages were available in the hydroponic garden while we were there. I saw tomatoes and some other veggies growing in another area, waiting for picking season. All of the "pick your own" was $2 per pound. There is also a farmers market there if you don't want to go through the "labor" of picking your own. The kids loved the bee hive and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The food counter has a limited menu but the smoothies, soup and shortcake were very good. The whole place is ultra clean and pleasant.
We spent about 2 hours here and then headed over to Hunsader to see the farm animals and run around. A great way to spend an afternoon and get some fresh local produce!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank floridayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have 4 kids 11, twin 7 yr olds, & a 2 yr old. They all had fun picking strawberries (other things to pick there too), seeing the bees, & having a delicious lunch. The hot dogs are huge, we split them in half! They had BBQ pork sandwiches, shakes (yum), smoothies, strawberry shortcake and more. The place was very clean & the staff extremely friendly. Would definitely go again!!

Helpful?
Thank Mjwfmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful produce, beautiful gardens, worth the trip.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hydroponic garden is worth visiting even if you don't go home with a bag or two of produce and gifts. Their strawberries are the best I've had since I've moved to Florida. You can pick them yourself from the hydroponic towers if you want to. Other winners were the yellow zucchini, Italian eggplant, poblano peppers, and lettuce. They have ice cream too, which I didn't try, and enormous chocolate-covered strawberries, which we loved.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fresh Strawberries galore!”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Get your fresh strawberries and vegetables here. Also a restaurant on site serving Strawberry shortcake and more!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank James99946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Brien Family Farms also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to O'Brien Family Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing