We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a pricey B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Londoner Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Bradenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We wanted to like this place, but would not recommend it. Location in downtown Bradenton is near the water, but the immediate surroundings are bleak. We stayed two nights in the Victoria Suite. Greeted at the door, shown the code for the locks, our room, and were informed that they owners lived "off site". We think they should be "on site" a bit more because attention to details is what's missing here.

The door to our suite had a three-inch gap at the bottom, a shaky knob, with a large drilled open hole below that. Our 'suite' was large, but the sitting room was nearly bare, with two uncomfortable chairs on one wall and a large chest on the other. Instead of an armoir, a metal contraption similar to a clothes drying rack in one corner. The bathroom had one small towel bar only, so there was no place to hang a towel for the sink or shower. The sink faced one direction; the mirror was on a different wall. A bare light bulb for illumination. Rough-cut two by fours served as woodwork. Even the painting of the walls was badly, hastily done. Artwork? Two magazine photos of England scenes in plastic frames.
Breakfast? I can compliment the coffee and fresh fruit. Only.
There is a lot of bare wood flooring in the halls and rooms above, so there's a lot of noise.The bathrooms for other guest rooms, in the hall outside our door, had paper labels just scotch taped onto the doors.
Did I mention the empty flower pots with cigarette butts on the front porch steps? Never cleaned our whole stay.
The hosts were friendly enough - the husband especially - but gosh! Go to Home Depot and get a couple towel hooks for the bathroom and a cheap light shade, at least. Not that difficult!
We had one night with not much to do, and were actually reluctant to go back to the 'suite' to spend the evening. Don't expect the level of comfort, taste and attention to detail one expects in a really nice B&B at the Londoner.

Room Tip: Beware! Everyone bangs their heads on the low ceiling going up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Kensington room. It was just right for two people that want a comfortable, clean, cozy room. It was a great value also because they serve a fantastic breakfast! The inn is also very close to downtown and the waterfront. Both are nice places to look around and enjoy this quaint town. Although it was 8 miles from the attraction we came to see, getting around is easy and required little time. Why stay in an average hotel when for the same price you can stay in a wonderful b&b? We will come back to the Londoner next time and recommend to our friends. Only one small recommendation.... The private bathroom is Very manageable but on small side.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbjeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Busy week at the inn and having only a few previous experiences at B&B's I had a very high standard from the one in Ct. to relate to. There was no "Jenny" this visit so her husband had his hands full doing it all. Frig was empty, no cups in bathroom or room, no info on what one could get in the house or not, TV was on bedside table so had to pull out table and watch from bed lying down. Small sofa was too far away and uncomfortable to watch from. No luggage rack so worked from floor. No slipper for night time visit to the bathroom down the hall. Robes provided. Dust bunnies abounded where I pulled out the TV and rest of room needed a wipe down from dust. Remaining evidence of prior guest remained in private bath. No indication as to daily fresh daily towels or save for another use and none were replaced nor bath cleaned with 3 nights there. Small bath mat was synthetic and got soaked and did not dry out. Get all cotton. No hair dryer handy, delivered when requested. Sheets were rough and when checked turned out to be cotton/percale from Pakistan but felt like muslin. Bed was comfortable, breakfast appropriate. Guess it was just too much to keep up with for one person on duty. All sounds picky but expectations are everything. also, I had the cheapest single room. other rooms more attractive. Needs a freshening up or female attention. Gets some art on the walls. 8x10 inch photos of Princess Di just tacky.

Room Tip: Peeking in at the suite with private bath, not down the hall, looked grand but so is the price tag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loboromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I chose this place because it is very quiet and romantic, without taking a long trip. I proposed to my beautiful girlfriend here and look forward to coming back every year. We happen to live right around the corner, but felt like we were in a different world. The service was excellent, very nice, professional people.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lance58555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

highly recommend this B/B.John and Jenny are great hosts,spotlessly clean rooms,with whatever you wanted for breakfast fruit.yogurt,toast,cereal,eggs anyway you like,John made quiche,and casserole,gave us the run of the kitchen in the evening to make ourselves a cp of tea,we enjoyed our stay,and would really like to return,thanks John/Jenny,best wishes for continued success.Gerry and Hilda Coxon

Room Tip: we had the Victoria,and it was very nice.it was quiet and had a sitting room also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry8851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is off the main route. The owner John is very nice. Love the English accent. Very clean . Our room is nice, very comfortable bed. We had 2 window seats in our room that we enjoyed with the wonderful breeze. I would recommend this highly!!!! Walking distant to the water with cute little shops to see, farmers market down the street. Come visit :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessPinkXena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the Londoner while we visited a son who lives on Anna Maria Island and had our best experience ever at a B & B.
Our daughter-in-law arranged our reservations and we really didn't know what to expect until we pulled onto 15th St. The "big old house" was a very pleasant surprise and the warmth of the greeting from John Taylor made us feel right at home.
Our room was spacious clean, PERFECT.
John's breakfast was superb. And he copied his recipes for his great scones and lemon curd so we could enjoy those treats in the Northwoods. (Wisconsin) And if you like a big breakfast his bacon and eggs will fill you up.
It was a great location for us just 15 or 20 minutes away from the island and within easy walking distance of downtown and the river walk.
We expect to make our southern trip again, probably next winter, and the Londoner will definitely will be in our plans.
It doesn't get any better than this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradenton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bradenton Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Bradenton Sarasota/Riverfront
7.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradenton Gateway Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradenton West
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bradenton at I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Londoner Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Londoner Bed & Breakfast

Address: 304 15th St W, Bradenton, FL 34205-5917 (Formerly The German Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Bradenton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bradenton
Price Range: £126 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Londoner Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Historic downtown Bradenton, this 3 story house has been restored and furnished to make you feel like you are at home..... in London! Each room is themed on a different area in London and has photographs and interesting articles displayed on that area, each bedroom has its own bathroom, Serta pillowtop mattresses and Wi-Fi. We serve a full breakfast every morning and afternoon teas are available by reservation only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Londoner Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Londoner Hotel Bradenton
The Londoner Bed And Breakfast
The Londoner Bed & Breakfast Bradenton, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing