We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay and Play”

Furnace Creek Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Furnace Creek Resort, this 18-hole course is 214 feet below sea level.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay and Play”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Furnace Creek Ranch and playing Furnace Creek Golf Course. The ranch was remodelled a few years ago and even though the outside looks dated, the rooms were well appointed, clean, and comfortable.

Had dinner twice at the Steakhouse. Great steaks and service. A little pricy, but they do have a captive audience. Had breaksfast and lunch at the 49er Cafe. Large portions and tasted great. Don't waste your money on the breakfast or lunch buffets at the steakhouse. Go to the cafe.

Golf course was in great shape. Staff was phenominal. We had a large group with saturday and sunday shotgun starts. They did a great job getting everyone out in time, caring for clubs overnight, etc. Our saturday round was started by arriving on the #6 tee wher two coyotes were sitting watching the ducks in the nearby lake. We say countless coyotes and roadrunners (make your own old cartoon comments now) all over the course.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LVworldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Level Contributor
218 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Boyfriend said the only disappointment was that it wasn't hotter - temperature reaching 106degC was more than hot enough for me! Very interesting scenery, and we enjoyed the short film at Furnace Creek visitor center.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

loved the journey from Yosemite Country Park to Furnace Creek in Death through the nevada sierra desert - the rock formations in the mountains, the desert sand, the dried salt lakes are simply stunning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“hot”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

i do not think i have ever got out of a car and felt such heat outside,this is one place you must visit,an oasis great golf and very much appreciated cold beer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“18 Holes - 118 Degrees”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

True story; began my round at 12:30 p.m. and yes, I was only one on the course. Played there on June 30th. $30 green fees and you can play for as long as you like. Of course you have to take a motorized cart and there is no water on the course, so make sure you bring lots of your own. First nine holes are the best and the open layout is quite varied on these holes, which is pretty remarkable considering the location. Lots of mature trees lining the fairways and water comes into play on several holes. The back nine is unspectacular. Most of the fairways and greens are in very good condition especially considering the environment. All in all, a blast and the surrounding scenery is pretty amazing. Good clubhouse, too.

t.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Furnace Creek Golf Course also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 

Been to Furnace Creek Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing