We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a snack” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“OK for a snack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The cafe's furnishings and decor are very basic- not a particularly inviting package. But there is a decent menu and the food was simple but good. I wouldn't recommend it for anything more than a lunchtime snack.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    355
    292
    122
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The menu was good, lots of choices, the food was good, and the service was quite good, but it was basically the only place to eat for quite a distance, so by the end of the week we were very tired of it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Deliverance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The food is terrible, its cold and served by a young lad who looks like he was straight out of 'Deliverance'
Don't bother eating here...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mapesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shocking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Normally I would say this is a case of having the right expectations. I actually already had low expectations in terms of food quality, and I had high expectation of price. Considering you have all of 3 restaurant choices when you stay at Furnace Creek, I was expecting the prices to be astronomical. I was not disappointed, the prices were ridiculous. I understand the prices would have to be a little higher, but this was just robbery! For four people, one of whom was a child, and another who just had a salad, our bill was $89 without tip. This was the café, not even the steak house.

Food quality was poor, the fish sandwich was dry, and drinks were $3 each. Do yourself a favor and go to a gourmet grocery store before you get to furnace creek and have yourself a picnic with a bottle of wine - you'd still have plenty of money to spare and your experience will be better.

The one good thing I can say is that the service was by all means good. The only thing is my son was asked what kind of cheese he wanted on his burger, and then we were charged $1.50 for it. Really?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 17tangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

But prices are a little high. I paid around $8.00 for two blueberry pancakes and three strips of bacon. Meals for our family of five were generally $70.00 to $100.00 for food and beverages for lunch and dinner. The given explanation is that the location is so remote..... That might have flown in the 1940's or 1950's, but with high speed semi-trucks and being roughly 3 hours from Las Vegas, Death Valley is hardly remote in this day and age. There are plenty of places, equally far from population centers, with more reasonable prices, but, that being said, the food tastes good, it's well prepared and the servers were friendly and fast. We always have several meals here when we are staying at the ranch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank panamint-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 

Been to Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing