We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Water Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bushkill Falls

Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bushkill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bushkill Falls, a series of eight cascading waterfalls, is one of the state’s most popular outdoor destinations. Nestled in the Pocono Mountains, the Falls – known as the Niagara of Pennsylvania –are a favorite of hikers, fishermen, birdwatchers and all those who treasure the nature’s beauty. Closed November - April.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Water Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to Bushkill Falls on July 5th, I will suggest not to go there during major holiday, it was bumper to bumper when we near the site, very difficult to find parking (spend over 1/2 hour try to find parking space). we had heavy rain few days before our trip, so water falls were heavy, strong and beautiful. But this is nothing compare with Niagara Falls.

You need to have good legs to walk around the trails, many up and down stairs, many uneven roads and rocks on the trails. The temperatures only around 80, so we were able to manage to
go through 1/2 of the trails.

Great place for family outing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveler_Yardley_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    395
    119
    28
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“If you love waterfalls, definitely hike Bushkill falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We hiked the red trail to see all the waterfalls and I would definitely recommend it. It isn't a difficult hike but there are a lot of steps. A good portion of the hike is on wooden walkways and the other half is along the path right along the waters edge. You aren't allowed to swim under the waterfalls or in the pools as is some other parks, but it is a really beautiful hike. We just came for the day and were here for about three house. There were a lot of people with dogs so it is very dog friendly. It did seem crowded at the beginning and I was nervous because I didn't really want to be hiking with a lot of people, but once you got into the trail the crowds disappeared. There are a lot of picnic tables if you want to bring lunch. The lake is very small and didn't seem that appealing for fishing or paddle boats. If you've ever been to Watkins Glens gorge, this reminded me a lot like that but on a smaller scale. Bushkill falls is definitely worth the trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Meter, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Niagara but Still Worth the Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent about 3 hours here hiking the "hard" trail to see all 8 waterfalls. The hiking wasn't hard and the area was beautiful. We did break the rules and dip our feet in the stream and play in the water a bit (we didn't technically swim!) which i highly recommend, so refreshing. :) Beautiful setting and it's a nice little day activity.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Day outdoors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a great natural gem right in PA...The smaller Niagra Falls of PA. Great trails, friendly staff and very well mapped out. A fun day for the family and dog friendly! We spent a Saturday walking around, taking in the beauty and snapping lots of pictures. I would say bring water and good shoes....

Only negative was finding signs on 209 to get you to the main entrance....Good thing we just followed all the traffic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls, but maybe should combine with Poconos trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful falls; paddle boating and miniature golfing available. It's okay, but not really the Niagara of PA as it has been touted.

Worth a trip, sure. But combine with other nearby attractions.

Helpful?
3 Thank akc5247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bushkill Falls also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bushkill Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing