We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I got married at the Meadows in hellertown and we used this hotel to reserve a block of rooms for my hotel guests because they referred them. The night of the wedding me and my husband went to check in and they told us they didn't have a room for us and we were told to stay in another hotel. The front desk employees were so ignorant and rude and were no help with anything. They squeezed us in a room that was smoky and stunk of ciggerettes. Two days before the wedding we dropped off 7 hotel bags for the front desk to give to our guests when they checked in. The next morning we woke up and found out that only 3 of our guests received hotel Bags and the other 4 were missing. I was furious to find this out because I paid about $15.00 a bag and filled it with goodies that not even half of my guests got to enjoy. When we talked to the front desks we were told they disappeared and there was nothing they could do about it. Well I didn't take that to well. We dealt with nothing but rude and ignorant people there. Save your money and go someplace else. And future brides that look at using this hotel for your wedding night. Save yourself the time and look at the other hotels in the area. This was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel and it was terrible to have to deal with this all on my wedding night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalani4191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I do apologize for the mishandling of the gift bags. We did refund money to you for the missing gift bags.

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    81
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
63
56
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I wrote a glowing review in 2010. This year, thank goodness I was only booked for one night. We were placed in a room downstairs by an emergency exit. All night the door opened & closed with people leaving & coming back from the bars. Thank goodness I had earplugs, but my dog? He was miserable. I would have asked for a new room, but the hotel seemed booked, and by that time it was after 11pm. Too late to pack up & move. There was also an ashtray outside the exit. People kept opening the door to smoke. Guess what the room smelled like? Did I mention the restaurant was closed? The receptionist didn't. The worst part? The heat was not on when we entered the room. It worked. The front desk apologized, but it was freezing when we entered. It was an awful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello Shelly,
I apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I hope this stay will not affect your decision to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

David M. Urban
General Manager
610-882-9700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

being a Vendor for an Expo at the Sands Hotel, I was looking for a nice and clean place to stay at a less expensive price. Augustine Solivan was more than helpful in getting me what I needed. The Rooms were very clean and large. I have been to many Hotels and always look at the Bathroom floor to see how clean the room is. Well They were very clean. The Bar and Rest. food was very good and large portions of food as well. The next time I go up that way, I will book a room with Comfort Suites again. Every Staff Member was very friendly and I give them all a Thumbs Up!!! Thank you all for making my stay more relaxing.
Chris T.

Room Tip: It is Non- Smoking so if you do smoke stay on the first floor so you can go outside anytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello Chris,
Thank you for the positive review. We do have great staff members that really care. I will share your comments with them . We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Bethlehem. Also, great room tip.

Sincerely,

David M. Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
254 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very clean downtown hotel adjacent to Lehigh University. Convenient parking, lighted lot. Well-kept older building. Room was very clean, bed was new and terrific, AC was very quiet, and Internet was fast and easy. Breakfast was average.
I stayed during the week and paid a very fair price - I'm sure it is far more expensive on a football weekend...

Room Tip: suggest upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave4_-_3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive response. The staff and myself look forward to your next visit and hope that one will be even better than this stay. Please contact me directly if would like to discuss anything further.

Sincerely,
David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was in town with friends for a concert at the Sands Event Center. The location of the hotel was pretty good. It was easy to find, near grocery stores/fast food/pharmacy/anything you need or want(even a record store). On a nice evening you could walk to the Sands Event Center, but it was raining that night so a cab was a better choice. The hotel is also right in front of the University campus which is a beautiful place to walk through during the day. The guy at the front desk was excellent, very helpful. Our room was thoroughly clean. Although the bathroom was a little small, I didn't mind because that makes the rest of the room even bigger. I would definitely stay here again, hotels like this seem to be getting difficult to find.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a great response about your stay. I will share this response with all the staff as we take pride in the facility and services we offer. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in the Bethlehem area.

Thank you,

David M. Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomkins Cove, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous when booking this hotel because of the reviews, but was very pleased to find that it was an excellent hotel. I have been to the area before so I was expecting the rough industrial look of the area. I didn't feel unsafe at all, I think people just wrote about safety concerns because of the industrial warehouse look of the town. Overall it was safe. The hotel offered a shuttle service to the casino which was 1.7 miles down the road. They left whenever we wanted to. The driver was a local man who had so much knowledge about the history of the steel and the casino. We enjoyed listening to him as we drove there. For pick up, the shuttle came quick and it was a easy ride back to the hotel. The bed was super comfy. There were pillow choices of firm or soft :) and the shower head was great pressure! The breakfast was nice and free. The staff was very friendly. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartmama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you writing such a positive review obout the hotel but also the area. As it does have the "industrial warehouse" look about it, Bethlehem is quite a charming town. I am glad that you were made to feel welcome by the staff.

We hope your next stay is as great as the last one.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Pa.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel offers nice rooms and a pleasant and helpful staff at the front desk. We stayed here during the Christmas season last year and we were pleased with the accomodations during that visit as well. Tara took care of our special resquest for a quiet room and answered questions we had about the area. The breakfast is typical and is served in the bar area. The hotel property is clean and well maintained. Plenty of parking spaces available. Perkins restaurant is across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We take pride in our hotel and the amenities we offer. We hope your next visit will be even better than the previous two times you stayed.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 120 W. Third St., Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Bethlehem
Comfort Suites Bethlehem
Bethlehem Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing