We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“but great food”
Review of Mama Nina's

Mama Nina's
Ranked #28 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“but great food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We are from out of town but a relative in the area recommended Mama Nina's. The tables are way too close together, my seat (at a booth) was too low, or the booth was too high. I used the rest room and it was NOT clean. Then our server, who explained she was new, didn't know the menu. I asked if salad was included with a pasta dish, a simple question, and she did not know. She was attentive otherwise, and very nice, but obviously had just been "thrown in" to wait tables with no training on the menu. I was wondering why our relative recommended this place. Then our food came. It was simply wonderful. As other people have mentioned, the portions are huge. But the quality is very high as well. I had large ravioli type pasta stuffed with beef and veal. My husband had a chicken, fresh mozzarella, and spinach sandwich. We were both impressed. If the rest room had been clean, and tables not so close, five stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    126
    49
    26
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at Mama Nina's”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great food and huge portions, a rare happening. This restaurant has a lot of character. I would recommend eating outside if possible. The variety of food is good and it is a good value for your dollar. Waiter was friendly and helped make the dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice, quaint Italian restaurant with excellent food and huge portions! It's a BYOB, which is somewhat disappointing, but once you start eating, you quickly forget about enjoying a fine glass of wine. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATravelGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat before you come here!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you don't like huge portions of great Italian food, this is probably not the place for you. But if you like great Italian food come on down. You will notice that the waiting list will be large, but don't let this scare you off, some thing are simply worth waiting for. The pasta is abundant, and the pizza is delicious. As soon as you sit down you will receive their wonderful garlic bread, that will just keep coming, but don't eat too much (easier said than done) you will need that room for your main course. Portions are crazy large, but equally crazy good. Bring your appetite and be ready to take home the leftovers, I have rarely seen anyone finish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucian62965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, adorable place with nice outdoor seating”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Staff could be a little better, but food is great & atmosphere is nice. Outdoor seating is great, especially in the fall! A likely romantic place downtown Bethlehem :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HippieMom333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Nina's also viewed

 

Been to Mama Nina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing