We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely downtown restaurant”

1741 on the Terrace
Reserve with OpenTable
1741 on the Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Church Street
Transit: Public transit hub is 4 blocks from restaurant, LANTA 207 passes in front of the hotel.
Description: It is the desire of 1741 on the Terrace to engage you and invite you. Try something new or revisit something familiar; but above all, enjoy. Relax in the ambiance of the room, with its beautiful Moravian tile floor and soaring Palladian windows. Admire the charm of downtown Bethlehem with buildings and history dating back to 1741 when the town itself was founded. The menu changes seasonally, with locally-inspired dishes by Executive Chef Michael Adams. The wine list is extensive -- with many exciting options from America and around the world. Our experienced servers are also available to aid in your wine selection or suggest custom pairings to the menu items upon request.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Lovely downtown restaurant”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful views of historic downtown Bethlehem. Located on Main St close to everything. The service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Darlene H,

Thank you so much for posting your review. Our wait staff and kitchen team take great pride in providing a wonderful experience for our guests. Our Executive Chef locally sources all of our produce and meats to ensure we have the freshest ingredients possible. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them.

Thank you for choosing us! We hope you join us again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    29
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
681 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We spent our wedding night here and have our anniversary meal here if we are in town. Very good food and a nice wine list. Beautiful view and great atmosphere. Especially when it snows or at Christmas time.

Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi BethlehemPaUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that you celebrate your anniversary here when you are in the area. Our Wine list has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 5 years running and all of our meats and produce are locally sourced to provide the freshest ingredients possible. The atmosphere and views are perfect for a special occasion.

We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to 1741 on the Terrace. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time visit not so good”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our reservation for 2 at 7PM on a Saturday night was our first visit. There are two entrances to the restaurant, one from the lobby and one from the second floor. We chose the wrong one, the 2nd floor. We entered by the live piano player and waited. And waited, with servers passing us by without a glance. We then asked the pianist for help. A hostess came over and seated us. Later on during our meal, we noticed another couple making the same entrance and waiting as we did.
We waited about 10 minutes for our server and ordered wine and waited, and waited. When it arrived, we ordered our dinner. Our salads came at 7:50. They were very tasty. Our server was constantly busy with other tables, they were understaffed. We ordered more wine and asked that it arrive before our dinner. It did.
At 8:40, we asked about our entrees. We were told the kitchen was backed up. At 8:50, our meals arrived. They were very good. Then a hostess came over to tell us that the 5 o’clock crowd and local activities were the reason they were so backed up. Really?
Our dinner came at 8:50. We left at 9:20. Almost 2 ½ hours to eat.

Our gripe is that the restaurant should have been up front and told us they were behind. We could have accepted that. While we were waiting, the hostesses could have asked us if we needed anything instead of making us feel marooned.
Our ratings are as follows: out of ten points:
Service = 4
Meals = 8
Ambiance = 7 The tall windows overlooking a main street in Bethlehem are wonderful. It is noisy and being older, we don’t appreciate it as much anymore. Didn't hear the pianist clearly. Paris spoiled us. Europeans are more refined at their meals.

So 19 out of 30 or 63%. We visit the finer local restaurants regularly like Apollo Grill, Melt, Bolete, and Yianni’s. For the price, this was very disappointing.

We left from the side entrance where we left our car (free valet parking). The attendants were nowhere to be found. We asked the hat check person to find we needed to go back up the stairs to the lobby and proceed out front for our car to be retrieved. No signs. You gotta know the rules. The bar at the Hotel Bethlehem is still a favorite for us after a movie or a show, but this restaurant is no longer on our list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Bill L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the service shortfalls that you both experienced while you were with us. I have shared your comments with Kathleen Brown our Director of Restaurants. She in turn is sharing it with the staff in the restaurant. We truly appreciate your feedback. It allows us to identify any issues and assists us in preventing them from happening in the future through retraining our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. If you would like to discuss this further, our General Manager Dennis Costello would like the opportunity to do that with you. He can be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCOSTELLO@HOTELBETHLEHEM.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Has great food from a great chef at great prices. Food always came out quick, nice and hot.
If you need extra food or change your mind or problem at all.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Davgibbons,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for joining us for dinner. Executive Chef David Troxell, his award winning Culinary Team and our wait staff takes great pride in every dish that leaves the kitchen. It is their goal to serve everyone with friendly and efficient service.

Thank you again! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rlaxing, Pleanty of light, great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautiful room great food. Great service and very resonable prices. Old world charm, modern service. A nust see if you are in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lance m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi lance m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We recently restored 1741 back to its original design as a Solarium. Our staff takes great pride ensuring everyone has a great experience while dining here. Our dessert list just got a whole lot better. In addition to the desserts created by our pastry chef we are now offering ice cream from the Penn State Creamery. Some of the flavors are Peachy Paterno, Coffee Break and Cookie Dough just to name a few. I have sampled them all and they are delicious! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything while you dined with us.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1741 on the Terrace also viewed

 

Been to 1741 on the Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing