We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Deli

Carnegie Deli
Ranked #83 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Carnegie Deli captures the feeling and atmosphere of its famous New York location. Experience the warmth of friendliness, with an array of delicious New York favorites. Swing by and enjoy the perfect sandwich with quality prime cuts of meat, condiments and fresh breads.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pass”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We were excited to see the deli while at The Sands casino. What a huge disappointment. The waitress could not keep our order straight. The pickles tasted almost rancid. Chicken soup had processed chicken chunks and no flavor. Bagel with cream cheese was good as was the half corned beef sandwich. Certainly nothing like a "real" deli though. I would not return!

Helpful?
Thank NurseMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    30
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor imitation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

As someone who loves authentic NYC delis in general and the original Carnegie Deli on 7th avenue in particular, I must say this place was a big let down. For one, the rye bread wasn't what anyone should expect at an authentic deli. It had the consistency and taste of ordinary white bread; it was just bad and not appropriate for a deli sandwich. The pastrami was fine but just as good as any type of sliced meat you can get at your local supermarket. It lacked the NYC tenderness and flavor. The cheesecake also was rather disappointing and is usually fantastic at the NYC location. If you expect an average and ordinary deli then this place might be fine for you, but if you are looking for something like the authentic NYC Carnegie Deli or even the pretty good copy at the Mirage in Vegas, you are sure to be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dskla064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must do for hungry deli lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The line was long, but moved quickly. Loud but fun to watch people as they get massive sandwiches. Can't see how anyone can finish one. Good to share. Pickles on the table are good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Your not in NYC anymore....AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I love the Carnegie Deli in NYC although you must share as everything is huge. This Carnegie Deli is awful. Tried this a few times thinking we just had a bad experience but no more. The service is awful. The workers act bothered to help you. The food is not fresh tasting at all. It always looks/tastes not so fresh.I ordered the roasted chicken which was so overdone and dry. I called the waitress over to say it is not edible. She looked at it and said "yeah that looks overdone. I'll bring you gravy and it will help". Really? ALSO....very overpriced!
The owners need to know that this is ruining the long treasured Carnegie Deli name.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebZ0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Compared to NYC, most of the taste, less atmosphere, cleaner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The food is not quite as tasty as in their NYC location, but darned close. The pastrami might be a touch less moist on average. (I've eaten here several times since opening; it was notably dry once, a bit dry another, other times full NYC-caliber.) Potato pancakes are in my opinion the same as NYC (that's a good thing). I love their unusual Reuben (open face, with a ton of kraut and cheese on top). As for atmosphere, it's certainly not the same... in two directions. On the one hand, it's not a landmark with pictures of stars and wannabes yellowed with age all over the walls; on the other hand, the kitchen is immaculate and there are lots of clean, non-yellowed pictures all over the walls.

Are the prices high? Well, they aren't cheap ($20 for that Reuben with no sides), but you get an absolute ton of food, and it is a casino (note: the prices are mostly higher in NYC),

Recent changes are very welcome. A few of the most popular sandwiches are now available as half sandwiches with fries, rather than the monster whole with no sides included, and the sharing charge on the menu seems to be gone. Both had upset diners in my presence in the past, so I'm glad to see those changes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carnegie Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing