We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in lovely Bethlehem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Since change of management this hotel has returned to its former glory. Very pleasant rooms with lovely bathrooms. Huge lobby. Great cocktail bar. We did not sample the restaurant which is fast gaining a very good reputation. If you want to wander around Historic Bethlehem during Musicfest or during the run up to Christmas this is the place to be. With your car safely parked in the garage you can go everywhere you want to on foot. Other restaurants very near.

Room Tip: Ask rof a room igh up overlooking the Star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for noticing all of the positive changes we have been making in the Hotel. We make every effort and take great pride in ensuring all of our guest’s have a great experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We hope you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here last minute and they gave us a room for $100 if we agreed to take it right away. It is a great, old hotel with tons of charm and great service. If you can, stay for the Sunday Brunch because it is an incredible hotel. It was a great last minute find that will make us come back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLAV143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you! Our associates take great pride in ensuring that each and every guest has a wonderful stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to join us for our Award winning Sunday Brunch. We look forward to your return.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I took my husband for a romantic get away and was delighted! The hotel is beautiful, clean, charming and perfect. All of the meals we ate there were delicious. The hotel was beautifully decorated from the holidays and I loved the warmth and ambiance from the hotel. This is my new favorite location to runaway to. We will be back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 729 and it was very quiet and peaceful. We never heard anyone in the adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your Romantic Getaway. We are happy to hear that you and your Husband had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My daughter was just married on Jan 7th, 2012 and I wanted to share what a wonderful experience it was for our family. The staff made it easy to prepare, were very helpful as we went thru the preparations, and on the wedding day everything was as planned. The food was wonderful,the room looked beautiful and the wait staff most helpful.Bethlehem is a wonderful place to go, especially for the holidays, the whole town is decorated and it's a great place to shop, dine and gamble if you so desire. My thanks to all at the Hotel Bethlehem for a great job!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your Daughters Wedding! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem and enjoyed it very much. There is much old world charm here - very pretty, very classy and everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the the 6th floor and provided a beautiful view in the evening - just superb. The bed was very comfortable the pillows were superb! Check in and out was quick. Parking is provided but suggest you arrive via car vs a full size truck - difficult to navigate the corners. Also recommend making dinner reservations - we didn't know and had eat dinner at a very small high top table in the crowded and loud bar. Service was great up until the food was served - then it was very difficult getting our check - felt forgotten about at this small table. Make reservations for a table if you plan on eating in the lounge area!!! Food was very good! The decorations - just after the holidays - were still up and were stunning - very beautiful and very old world surroudings. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatielynnCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the slow service you experienced in the Tap Room after your meals were brought to the table. That is not how we typically handle guests’ at any table in one of our restaurants.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the new bedding in your room and were able to see the Christmas Decorations in the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope you choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were lucky enough to book the last room in the Hotel Bethlehem, the weekend before Christmas this year. It was like stepping back in time, to a grander, gentler era. Everyone was wonderful at the hotel. It was our first trip to Bethlehem, but we will be going back next year, with friends. The street in front of the hotel has it all. Cute shops, delicious restaurants and history. For history buffs this city is a gem. We took the Christmas lights bus tour that was also a lesson on the Moravians, who settled Bethlehem. I do have one question however. In order to get reservations at the hotel as well as dining reservations,next December, when should we book? Thank you for a wonderful Christmas getaway, complete with snow flurries.

Room Tip: A room in front of the hotel offers a view of the holiday scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you would like to stay with us again next December. I will see what we can do about having snow flurries for you again. :-)

I would suggest making your reservations for the hotel and our restaurants in early to mid October. Our Christmas Decorations are officially up by Thanksgiving every year.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem Dec 28th. It was still decorated for the holidays and it was just Beautiful . We were upgraded from a king room to an executive king room without even asking. Everyone we came in contact with was so freindly , begining with making the reservations to checkout. The price was very reasonable and the breakfast in the hotel was amazing, our waitress Ellen was fun and attentive. we will go back for sure .












k

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emags50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We will actually have our Christmas Decorations up until January 22, 2012. Let us know when you are ready for your next visit!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 15 in Bethlehem
982 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 15 in Bethlehem
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#12 of 15 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £139 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing