We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for a New Years Eve wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were fortunate to stay 2 nights (including New Years Eve). The hotel is so charming and steeped in history! Not to mention, the town itself is very quaint. Our room overlooked Main Street and even being on the 6th floor we could sometimes hear the soft sound of a horse drawn carriage passing by. The room was adequately sized and had a small fridge and Kuereg coffee maker. Since we were there for a wedding with a large group of friends, we spent a lot of time in the beautifully decorated common areas of the hotel. The wedding reception itself was over the top, with a cocktail hour on a balcony overlooking the beautiful ballroom where the reception was held. The staff at the reception were extremely attentive and caring. Everyone in our group is looking forward to a return trip to the Historic Bethlehem Hotel next fall/winter to take advantage of all of the Christmas events that happen in the city each year...and stay in this warm and welcoming hotel!! I recommend asking for a room facing Main Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Main Street....we were on the 6th floor and loved it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi sulli9999,

Thank you so much for writing your review! It is nice to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the Wedding and the Hotel. Weddings are one of our many specialties. It is our goal to ensure that everyone has a wonderful time. Our hotel rooms offer some of the best views in Bethlehem including Main Street, Historic Moravian Bethlehem, and the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you! We look forward to your return! We will be fully decorated for Christmas by Thanksgiving Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hotel Bethlehem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Historic Hotel Bethlehem was the epic place to hold my dream wedding. The staff was extremely helpful and kept the night running smoothly. From the start of the ceremony to ringing in the New Year guests enjoyed the ambiance of this historic building. Beyond the awe inspiring holiday decorations, rooms are clean and comfortable with the hint of historic flare. This is a place to visit and stay any time of year, but the holidays are always extra special

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Jennifer D,

Congratulations! Thank you for the honor of allowing us to host your Dream Wedding! It was truly our pleasure. We are pleased that you and your guests enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you! We hope to welcome you back for your first Anniversary in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous decorated for Christmas. We were there for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Unfortunately we booked kind of late and they only had a double bed room available regardless of my pleading for king or even Queen due to our anniversary (hey a girl can try!). Upon arriving, they informed us they had upgraded us to a king size room and congratulated us on our anniversary! Everyone there was SO nice. We were told a few weeks prior we could not book brunch either due to it being booked but again, upon getting there they made that happen for us too! Elevators are very cool....very old school the only complaint I have and I hate to even bring it up considering it is a very old hotel but the walls are WAY too thin. During the night we heard one neighbor having way too much fun if u know what I mean and the next morning I felt like I was in the conversation with the other neighbor. Room was small but clean and nice. Bed was comfy too. Hotel is in prime location of downtown Bethlehem too. Would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefk899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Stefk899,

Happy 10th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us! I am happy to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a King room and make brunch reservations for you upon your arrival. This year we are replacing all of our guest room doors with new Mahogany doors that will help eliminate any exterior noise.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at the Bethlehem hotel for a wedding on New Year's Eve. We arrived early to meet friends before the wedding. We were greeted by the bellman who called to see if our room was ready. We checked right in and went to our room. It was a lovely room that was well equipped, clean and bright. The hotel and town were decorated for Christmas. Both were amazing. It even snowed while we were at lunch in a local restaurant.

The wedding was wonderful. Cocktails were served overlooking the banquet room. The food, service and ambiance were great. The entire hotel went wild at midnight. There were at least 2 bands playing, balloons, streamers and even the ball drop from NYC on a large screen. It as great.

What a great place to welcome the new year! We are planning on returning next December to take advantage of all the Christmas activities.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mamasheep2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi mamasheep2u,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and the Hotel. We had two weddings and a party in the Tap Room for New Year’s Eve. The atmosphere in the hotel was as festive and electric as it could get! We certainly had fun as well.

Thank you again for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here on Sunday with one nights reservation and it was all that and more. The hotel is a visit back in history with a wonderful lobby steeped in old time beauty. The room was wonderful on the eighth floor with a view of the star of Bethlehem and a great comfortable bed with modernized bathroom. After check in which was very easy and the front desk very attentive, we walked the shops up and down Main Street. At 6 we had reservations for the bus ride through historic Bethlehem which was very enlightening. We picked up the bus a few doors up Main Street from hotel at the visitors center. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to everything in the neighborhood. After the bus tour which is about 50 minutes we had dinner at mama Nina's on Main Street. (BYOB). Excellent food. Monday morning we had breakfast at Joe's bagel shop across from the hotel which was reasonable and delicious. Monday we took the tour of the Germaine House which gave a good historical account of the Moravain people. I would certainly recommend this trip and hope to return to enjoy a different season in Bethlehem. Only complaint was the hourly blast of the train horns as they traversed through the town.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi kmc1021,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you both had a great time during your visit to Bethlehem. The hotel does offer the best views of the Star on South Mountain. There is so much to see and do while in Bethlehem and it sounds like you were able to enjoy some of it. As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Historic Bethlehem and within walking distance of several Historic sites and shops right here on Main st. There is always something to do here in Bethlehem. If you are able to visit in October or early November I would highly recommend the Moravian Book Shops Ghost Tours℠—Historic Haunts of Downtown Bethlehem.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a beautifully kept and well run historic hotel. The room was spotless; the beds were fantastic. The bathroom was redone but kept to the older decor with plenty of wonderful, thick white towels and 2 types of drinking glasses provided. With only 2 elevators we never waited long. Reception was wonderful and we took advantage of free shuttle to the casino. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas and alive with restaurant goers and a wedding celebration. Live piano karoake was a welcome surprise upon returning at night. The hotel is located in the town and it's a perfect location to shop and wander about.

The only negative experience was the low water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattycakesnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi pattycakesnyc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. It is very good to know that you enjoyed the amenities in your room and that you found the beds to be fantastic! We had the elevators completely redone in 2013 which has made them faster and more efficient. We offer nightly entertainment in the Tap Room during the Christmas Season. There is always something to see and do here at the Hotel. I have also shared your comments in regard to water pressure with our Chief Engineer so that he may look into it to ensure that it was an isolated incident.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect place to stay over the Christmas season. The lobby is decorated so beautifully and it just invites you to sit and enjoy the ambiance. The staff was very accommodating especially the hostess Hannah she made sure our party of 15 was taken care of during our family visit in the lobby. The rooms are elegant, beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are spacious and new. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank JanelleEbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi JanelleEbaugh,

Thank you for joining us during the Christmas season! We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The Hotel is fully decorated each year by Thanksgiving and we typically keep the decorations up until the second or third week of January. We appreciate you recognizing Hannah, she is a wonderful employee.

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: £137 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing