We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paranormal Weekend Event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paranormal Weekend Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Attended the Paranormal Weekend event and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the stay, the activities, the people, the staff and topped off the weekend with the best Sunday Brunch around. I will definitely be returning often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally nice with marble baths. A little trivia: The marble for the baths was quar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi GhostBreakers,

Thank you for joining us during our annual GhostBreakers Weekend! We look forward to this event each year and are pleased to hear that you had such a good time. Stay tuned for next years dates!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    195
    53
    18
    14
See reviews for
247
312
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We are here now and what a terrible mistake. We arrived here to visit family and see the area so decided to stay in a recommend historic hotel. It was not inexpensive but convenient to the church and concert we are to attend. We arrived around noon and noticed large groups of people decked out in St.Patrick 's green. We got the last parking place in the lot behind the hotel and went inside knowing we were a bit early for check in. Realizing the lobby was filled with people celebrating we asked to be on the back of the hotel and were told to check back in an hour so were made our way to the cafe to have lunch. It was so loud that we had a problem hearing one another and it took almost an hour to get a sandwich and salad. We left and did a tour returning at 3:50 P.M. And were told that they needed 15 more minutes to clean the room. We left walked around and when we came back and got our keys and got to the room and found out that we were given a room with a window facing the air conditioning shaft that has a loose piece of metal that flaps in the breeze on irregular intervals it made us think perhaps we will not only NOT COME BACK BUT NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EITHER. Room 401 is NOT a good way to experience the ambience and classic opulence of a Historic hotel.
Sadly the little blonde at the desk seemed to not be happy with the noise or us.
I hate doing negative anything but in years and years of travel all over the world I think this room rates right there with the worst one yet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Donna S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We truly appreciate the feedback. We would like to apologize that your experience with us during your stay over St. Patrick’s day weekend did not meet your expectations. We are a community hotel and as such play a big part in the celebration parade that took place on Main Street in front of our hotel. Needless to say the lobby and restaurant were busy and apologize that you had no warning of such festivities when you made your reservation.

While we tried to offer you a room with a view of Lehigh University and the Star of Bethlehem, you requested a room in the back of the hotel traditionally reserved for those that want quiet and privacy-- room 401 is such a room. We apologize for the loose metal that blew in the heavy winds that day and have fixed that problem.

We hope you will give us another try and come back to experience the great views and peaceful ambiance of our historic hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nappanee, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The lobby is very welcoming with relaxing furniture. The preservation of history while sustaining the modern needs is spectacular. But the icing on the cake is the impeccable service due to an amazing staff. They are all clearly working together to an end goal! Great place to stay for a short stay, or an extended stay as I have done for two weeks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boater1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Boater1325,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We work very hard to preserve as much of the hotels history as possible all while offering the modern amenities that our guests have come to expect. We have to agree with you about our staff. We have a great team whose number one goal is ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bethlehem. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

After a dreadful experience in an hotel in Allentown due to Hotel Bethlehem being booked out, it was a pleasure to arrive at this elegant and charming place. The rooms were wonderfully luxurious and comfortable. As we were attending a conference at the hotel we thoroughly enjoyed this historic hotel with a feel of by-gone elegance. Situated in the delightful historic centre of Bethlehem during harvest festival was wonderful for a South Africa. glitch was the lengthy time it took to resolve a credit card error.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Snowgoose,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you on your previous trip to Bethlehem. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while attending your conference at the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Bethlehem and there is always something to see or do while you are here. Harvest Fest is one of my favorite festivals.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business trip (you know the sort of trip .... Defined by airports Heathrow Chicago Cleveland Chicago San Francisco Newark Heathrow in 5 days).

Have to confess I picked the hotel rather than let the company travel agent pick the usual dross. This is a great hotel. Avoid if you want Ikea blandness but if you want character it's great. The food too is really good too. I ate in the Tap Room. Alligator tail for starter ... not had that before as there aren't many alligators in Cambridge. And I'm pretty sure that you wouldn't be allowed to eat any that there are. It was excellent. Perhaps we should introduce them to the fens.......

Live jazz. Full restaurant.

Great place. My only criticism is that I ordered fries with my main course steak ( as opposed to mash stipulated on the menu). The fries did not materialise. Why do waiters in the US think it is good to try to remember the order rather than write it down?

But this was a minor blip on a great experience. Just wish my partner was here. She would love it.

If you find yourself in Bethlehem (Pennsylvania) id urge you to go for it

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi GB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I have not personally tried the Alligator tail however I do hear it is very popular. I’m glad that you enjoyed it! We have live music in the Tap Room Wednesday through Sunday and we Feature Jazz music every Thursday. We appreciate all of your feedback. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall with your dinner. I have shared your comments with our Director of Restaurants and her team. They are working to ensure that it does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope your partner has the opportunity to join you should you travel to Bethlehem in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at HHB for a business stay of 4 days. The hotel really has character and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and very powerful heating - very nice after a day out in the cold.

A dawback is the lack of healthy varieties at breakfast. There is a "healthy" option, but it is pretty plain. A workaround for Europeans is a bowl of berries, yoghurt and orange juice, ordered separately. The muesli is sugar crusted and doesn't work ;)

Room Tip: x33 is far away from WiFi, 620 is very close to a quite noisy fridge, for 720 it's an ice machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Sprudeldudel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are currently reviewing the healthy selections on our breakfast menu and will be improving upon them very soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

As a surprise get away for my Mothers Birthday, my sister, daughter and myself reserved the Presidential Suite for the weekend at the Hotel Bethleham. I have had the opportunity to visit the Hotel several times before, and was so excited for my Mom and Sister to have a wonderful expereience. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Hotel. It is not like any other Hotel I have visited and staying in a room at the hotel is an experience of its own when visiting Bethleham. The beds are cozy, comfortable, that you hate when morning arrives....the rooms are immacuately clean, a must for me at all times!! The staff are pleasant, helpful and very courteous. We had the Sunday brunch that was outstanding, and they nver ran out of any food item, replacing as soon as they needed to do so.The town itself is charming with many shops to visit, too many resturants to try, its hard to decide, and truely a great time away at anytime of the year.I will be returning in April for business and cannot wait!! my family made many special memories this weekend and hope to return next year for another Birhtday!1 (its better a better gift than a sweater!!!)

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, the top floors give a great view of not only the surrounding buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Sharon R,

Happy Birthday to Mom! Thank you for choosing to celebrate her Special day with us. We are thrilled to hear that everyone had a great time! I’m glad you all had a great night sleep on our Serta Perfect Sleepers and were able to join us for our Musical Sunday Brunch. There is so much to see and do right outside our doors you could certainly fill a few days exploring everything Historic Bethlehem has to offer. The Presidential Suite offers you unique dual views of Historic Main St, Historic Moravian Bethlehem, and the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back in April and again for the next Birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing