We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yet again a most wonderful stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I can't say enough good things about the staff, the food, the rooms, the hotel in general. The rooms are excellent, bed are comfortable, cleanliness is topnotch. The staff are the friendliest, kindest you will ever find.
We were in attendance this past weekend for the GhostBreakers Paranormal Weekend Event, the event was great, very informative and 'active' and the weekend ended with the most incredible Sunday brunch I have ever seen! Very much looking forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlb620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi dlb620,

Thank you for attending our annual GhostBreakers weekend! It is great to hear that you and your friends had a great time! I have heard that it was an “active” weekend. I have to agree with you our Musical Sunday Brunch is incredible. Thank you for saying so!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    210
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
260
329
36
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Attended the Paranormal Weekend event and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the stay, the activities, the people, the staff and topped off the weekend with the best Sunday Brunch around. I will definitely be returning often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally nice with marble baths. A little trivia: The marble for the baths was quar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi GhostBreakers,

Thank you for joining us during our annual GhostBreakers Weekend! We look forward to this event each year and are pleased to hear that you had such a good time. Stay tuned for next years dates!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We are here now and what a terrible mistake. We arrived here to visit family and see the area so decided to stay in a recommend historic hotel. It was not inexpensive but convenient to the church and concert we are to attend. We arrived around noon and noticed large groups of people decked out in St.Patrick 's green. We got the last parking place in the lot behind the hotel and went inside knowing we were a bit early for check in. Realizing the lobby was filled with people celebrating we asked to be on the back of the hotel and were told to check back in an hour so were made our way to the cafe to have lunch. It was so loud that we had a problem hearing one another and it took almost an hour to get a sandwich and salad. We left and did a tour returning at 3:50 P.M. And were told that they needed 15 more minutes to clean the room. We left walked around and when we came back and got our keys and got to the room and found out that we were given a room with a window facing the air conditioning shaft that has a loose piece of metal that flaps in the breeze on irregular intervals it made us think perhaps we will not only NOT COME BACK BUT NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EITHER. Room 401 is NOT a good way to experience the ambience and classic opulence of a Historic hotel.
Sadly the little blonde at the desk seemed to not be happy with the noise or us.
I hate doing negative anything but in years and years of travel all over the world I think this room rates right there with the worst one yet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Donna S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We truly appreciate the feedback. We would like to apologize that your experience with us during your stay over St. Patrick’s day weekend did not meet your expectations. We are a community hotel and as such play a big part in the celebration parade that took place on Main Street in front of our hotel. Needless to say the lobby and restaurant were busy and apologize that you had no warning of such festivities when you made your reservation.

While we tried to offer you a room with a view of Lehigh University and the Star of Bethlehem, you requested a room in the back of the hotel traditionally reserved for those that want quiet and privacy-- room 401 is such a room. We apologize for the loose metal that blew in the heavy winds that day and have fixed that problem.

We hope you will give us another try and come back to experience the great views and peaceful ambiance of our historic hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nappanee, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The lobby is very welcoming with relaxing furniture. The preservation of history while sustaining the modern needs is spectacular. But the icing on the cake is the impeccable service due to an amazing staff. They are all clearly working together to an end goal! Great place to stay for a short stay, or an extended stay as I have done for two weeks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boater1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Boater1325,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We work very hard to preserve as much of the hotels history as possible all while offering the modern amenities that our guests have come to expect. We have to agree with you about our staff. We have a great team whose number one goal is ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bethlehem. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After a dreadful experience in an hotel in Allentown due to Hotel Bethlehem being booked out, it was a pleasure to arrive at this elegant and charming place. The rooms were wonderfully luxurious and comfortable. As we were attending a conference at the hotel we thoroughly enjoyed this historic hotel with a feel of by-gone elegance. Situated in the delightful historic centre of Bethlehem during harvest festival was wonderful for a South Africa. glitch was the lengthy time it took to resolve a credit card error.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Snowgoose,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you on your previous trip to Bethlehem. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while attending your conference at the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Bethlehem and there is always something to see or do while you are here. Harvest Fest is one of my favorite festivals.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business trip (you know the sort of trip .... Defined by airports Heathrow Chicago Cleveland Chicago San Francisco Newark Heathrow in 5 days).

Have to confess I picked the hotel rather than let the company travel agent pick the usual dross. This is a great hotel. Avoid if you want Ikea blandness but if you want character it's great. The food too is really good too. I ate in the Tap Room. Alligator tail for starter ... not had that before as there aren't many alligators in Cambridge. And I'm pretty sure that you wouldn't be allowed to eat any that there are. It was excellent. Perhaps we should introduce them to the fens.......

Live jazz. Full restaurant.

Great place. My only criticism is that I ordered fries with my main course steak ( as opposed to mash stipulated on the menu). The fries did not materialise. Why do waiters in the US think it is good to try to remember the order rather than write it down?

But this was a minor blip on a great experience. Just wish my partner was here. She would love it.

If you find yourself in Bethlehem (Pennsylvania) id urge you to go for it

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi GB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I have not personally tried the Alligator tail however I do hear it is very popular. I’m glad that you enjoyed it! We have live music in the Tap Room Wednesday through Sunday and we Feature Jazz music every Thursday. We appreciate all of your feedback. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall with your dinner. I have shared your comments with our Director of Restaurants and her team. They are working to ensure that it does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope your partner has the opportunity to join you should you travel to Bethlehem in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at HHB for a business stay of 4 days. The hotel really has character and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and very powerful heating - very nice after a day out in the cold.

A dawback is the lack of healthy varieties at breakfast. There is a "healthy" option, but it is pretty plain. A workaround for Europeans is a bowl of berries, yoghurt and orange juice, ordered separately. The muesli is sugar crusted and doesn't work ;)

Room Tip: x33 is far away from WiFi, 620 is very close to a quite noisy fridge, for 720 it's an ice machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Sprudeldudel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are currently reviewing the healthy selections on our breakfast menu and will be improving upon them very soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
847 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing