We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Epitome of Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“The Epitome of Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I "flew away" for a three-night romantic getaway and knowing nothing about the area, had looked online at various accomodations. How lucky were we to have selected Hotel Bethlehem - it was amazing! The location is perfect with so many historical sights, shops, and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has the feel of a luxurious boutique hotel; the room, which was spotless, had an updated feeling of "Old Hollywood" opulence - I felt so decadent (in a good way) for a really modest rate, and yet, every single staff member, without exception, was so friendly and accomodating that each felt like a friend. Hotel Bethlehem is not just a hotel - it is an experience to be enjoyed and savored along with Bethlehem itself.
Karen-Columbia, SC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Karen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are the lucky ones! It is very humbling to have a guest consider us perfect. We are thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your romantic getaway! We all need a little decadence every now and then. There is plenty to see and do while you are in Bethlehem, we are very fortunate to be in the location that we are. Our associates take great pride in everything that they do. Their number one goal is to ensure that everyone has a great experience from start to finish. It is great to know that we provided you both with a wonderful experience.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    200
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
251
315
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Petersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Tired of hotel chains? If you happen to be travelling near Bethlehem, PA (near Allentown), visit the Historic Hotel Bethlehem. You will be restored and refreshed because of your surroundings and the wonderful staff. The area has fabulous restaurant choices as well as small shops that are just perfect. We hosted a 2-day board meeting at this property and everyone had a wonderful time - good food, excellent staff who obviously were empowered to take care of guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Judy G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Service is our number one priority. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel during your meetings. We do empower our associates so they are able to ensure the best experience for our guests. We are in a great location, there is so much to see and do during your free time both in the Hotel and out walking in Historic Bethlehem.

Thank you! We hope to see you again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It makes me feel like I am one of the rich and famous every time I step foot through the door. I feel like I step back in time and should be wearing a magnificent gown from the 1800's.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Parker5555,

Thank you! We appreciate the kind words. Your experience is important to us while you are our guest. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy yourself each time you are here. You are more than welcome to wear that gown the next time you are here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent 2 weeks at Hotel Bethlehem for a training, and it was FANTASTIC! The hotel room was very comfortable, food was excellent (our group never tired of the food, which states volumes especially when you stay somewhere for 2 weeks) and the banquet staff was very attentative with pleasant dispositions. Bell Men greet you upon arrival, which is a very nice touch, and the Front Desk staff has a warming welcome. Had the pleasure of meeting daily with the Banquet Manager and Catering Manager as well as frequent meetings with Director of Events, General Manager, and Owner. They went above and beyond to exceed our group's expectations, which was very much appreciated. Perfect hotel and location of conferences, trainings, meetings, weddings, social functions, etc. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NantucketKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi NantucketKate,

Thank you for this glowing review! It was our pleasure to host your training! Our team strives to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are pleased to hear that we did just that. All of us at the Hotel are looking forward to working with you and your group during the next training session. We will work to make this one just as successful.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for one night only when visiting local colleges. Wanted to stay somewhere that was not a cookie-cutter chain hotel like a Hampton Inn.This area of Bethlehem is the nicest locale compared to the surrounding area. There's quite a few restaurant choices for dinner within walking distance. (We ate at Mama Nina's which was reasonably priced Italian fare with larger than expected portions.) Inside of the hotel is beautiful and the lobby area and Tap Room superb. Loved that there was live music at the Tap Room (Sunday night). Our room was nice and the beds super comfortable. Room had a mini-fridge which was great because we had to be up early and wanted some OJ, milk, and cereal in the room so that we could get up, eat quickly, and get right out. (Breakfast is available downstairs at the restaurant but is not included. There is a deli/coffee shop across the street if you want something informal and less expensive.) Negatives -- although it was 20 degrees outside, the room was a bit warm for us. The AC didn't seem to adjust to cool us down. Room could also use more outlets. Had to go under the desk to unplug the Kerig machine in order to plug in my blow dryer. Overall, a nice boutique-y place to stay if you have a reason to stay in Bethlehem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi SueNYC,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting the local colleges. We are in a great location and very close to most of the Colleges & Universities in the area. I am sorry to hear that the room was a bit to warm and you were not able to adjust the temperature. I have passed your comments about this and the outlets along to our Chief Engineer so he can look into and correct it. We offer live music in the Tap Room Wednesday through Sunday, I am glad that you had the opportunity to stop in and enjoy it.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you choose a college in Bethlehem so we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yet again a most wonderful stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I can't say enough good things about the staff, the food, the rooms, the hotel in general. The rooms are excellent, bed are comfortable, cleanliness is topnotch. The staff are the friendliest, kindest you will ever find.
We were in attendance this past weekend for the GhostBreakers Paranormal Weekend Event, the event was great, very informative and 'active' and the weekend ended with the most incredible Sunday brunch I have ever seen! Very much looking forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlb620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi dlb620,

Thank you for attending our annual GhostBreakers weekend! It is great to hear that you and your friends had a great time! I have heard that it was an “active” weekend. I have to agree with you our Musical Sunday Brunch is incredible. Thank you for saying so!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Attended the Paranormal Weekend event and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the stay, the activities, the people, the staff and topped off the weekend with the best Sunday Brunch around. I will definitely be returning often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally nice with marble baths. A little trivia: The marble for the baths was quar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi GhostBreakers,

Thank you for joining us during our annual GhostBreakers Weekend! We look forward to this event each year and are pleased to hear that you had such a good time. Stay tuned for next years dates!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing